| ONErpm Lusophone and Francophone Africa expansion, and the Luanda office, November 2025 |
Distribution |
ONErpm, Altafonte Portugal, Lda., Ricardo Nobrega, Unipessoal Lda, Central Sonora |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Makhadzi Left Open Mic Productions in 2023 but the Masters Did Not Move: Open Mic Still Holds the Phonogram Credit on Four Albums, 74 Tracks |
Distribution |
Open Mic Productions (Pty) Ltd, Makhadzi Entertainment, Rita Dee Entertainment |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Epic Records Never Owned Sho Madjozi’s Masters. Her Own Credit Line Names Black Cinderella, Inc. as Owner and Epic as Licensee, and Since November 2024 It Names Her. |
Licensing |
Black Cinderella, Inc., Epic Records, Sony Music Entertainment, Flourish and Multiply, Black Major, Muthaland Entertainment |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Mdundo Varied Its Rights Holder Terms Effective January 2026. Its Audited Accounts Quantify the Margin Effect and Name No Counterparty. |
Licensing |
Mdundo, Mdundo.com A/S, Mdundo Limited (Kenya) |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| SoundExchange Signed Kenya’s KAMP to Reciprocal Rights Agreements in February 2026. Five Months Later, Kenya Suspended KAMP’s Licence to Operate |
Licensing |
SoundExchange, KAMP Copyright & Related Rights Ltd, Kenya Copyright Board |
KES Not disclosed |
Document |
| Universal Music Africa Signed Locko in 2018. His Own Phonogram Credits Named a Different Company as the Rights Holder for Three Years |
Distribution,Licensing |
Universal Music Africa, Waka Music Limited, Big Dreams Entertainment, Yema Production, Sony Music Entertainment France |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| BMG UK / Nooks Recordings publishing partnership (Lagos) |
Publishing |
BMG, Nooks Recordings |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Warner Said Africori Would Keep Operating as a Standalone Entity Under Its Founder. The UK Register Dates His Board Exit to 3 April 2026, 77 Days Before Warner Announced It, and Africori Limited’s Two Remaining Directors Are Both in Britain |
Acquisition, Distribution |
Warner Music Group, Africori, ADA Worldwide, Qanawat Music, Revelator |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Chike’s 2016 Universal Deal Was Reported as Nigerian. His Only Release Under It Credits South Africa. |
Licensing |
ONErpm, Universal Music (Pty) Ltd (ZA), Brothers Records |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Universal’s Kaka Empire Partnership Names King Kaka Personally, Not the Label. Two Releases Carry It, and His Newest Does Not. |
Distribution |
Kaka Empire, Universal Music Group East Africa, Universal Music Kenya Limited, Universal Music Group |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Sony Music Africa Does Not Own Don Laka’s Masters. Its Own Credit Line Says Bokone Does. |
Distribution, Licensing, Publishing |
Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd, Bokone Music, Bokone House of Music (Pty) Ltd, Universal Music (Pty) Ltd (ZA), Gallo Music Publishers, Gallo Record Company, Sound African Recordings |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Odeal’s Masters Are Credited to His Own OVMBR Imprint. Since 2024 LVRN Shares the Line, and the UK Register Shows He Owns No More Than Half of the Recording Company. |
Distribution, Publishing |
OVMBR, LVRN (Love Renaissance), Sony Music Publishing, Warner Records Inc. |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Sony Paid $430m for AWAL and Kobalt Neighbouring Rights. Kobalt Kept the Publishing and AMRA. |
|
Sony Music Entertainment, AWAL, Kobalt Music Group, The Orchard, Spaceship Entertainment |
USD 430,000,000 |
Document |
| Sony Music Entertainment and Crux Global Signed a Three-Tier Distribution Partnership for Ghana. No Equity, No Masters, No Disclosed Consideration. |
Distribution |
Sony Music Entertainment, The Orchard, Crux Global |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Two Copyright Mortgages Recorded in 2010 Put the Fela Kuti Album Catalogue Up as Security. The Counterparty Was MRI Associated Labels, and No Release Has Ever Been Recorded. |
Investment |
Knitting Factory Records Inc., Kalakuta Sunrise Limited |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Eddy Kenzo Says He Turned Down USD 1 Million From Warner Music. Eighty-Nine Releases Across Eleven Years Credit His Own Big Talent Entertainment, and the Grammy-Nominated Master Belongs to a Chicago Label. |
Licensing |
Big Talent Entertainment, Vitae Records, Hitskope Music Group, Warner Music Group |
No consideration passed. The only figure in any source read is USD 1,000,000, described by Eddy Kenzo as an offer from Warner Music that he refused. |
Document |
| Warner Chappell Music LTD Is a Copyright Claimant of Record on Rema’s “Calm Down”. Mavin Global Holdings’ Filing Address in the US Copyright Register Moved from Warner Chappell to Universal Music Publishing Group Between July and September 2025. |
|
Mavin Global Holdings Limited, Warner Chappell Music, Universal Music Publishing Group, Universal Music Group, Mavin Records |
USD Not disclosed |
Document |
| Riky Rick Signed to Sony Through Cotton Club Records in 2017. His Credit Line Has Named a Different Company, Anolabex (Pty) Ltd, Since September 2018 |
Licensing |
Anolabex, Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Apple Credits Nomsa Mazwai as Composer on Black Coffee’s “Traveller.” A Criminal Complaint Says She Was Never Paid for It. |
|
Soulistic Music, Ocha Records, SAMPRA |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Who Owns Lojay’s Masters? Koratori Music, and the Credit Line Dates the Handover to September 2022 |
Distribution, Publishing |
Koratori Music, The Orchard, Sony Music Publishing, Metallic Music, 1789 Entertainment |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Transsion’s Hong Kong IPO Filing Names Boomplay’s Whole Corporate Family, and Still Won’t Say Who Owns How Much of It |
Joint Venture |
Boomplay, Transsion Holdings, NetEase |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| SoundExchange and SAMPRA Announced a Reciprocal Performer Agreement on 18 November 2024. SAMPRA’s Own Annual Reviews Show a Record Company Leg Already Running by 31 December 2022 |
Licensing |
SAMPRA, SoundExchange, AFM & SAG-AFTRA Intellectual Property Rights Distribution Fund |
ZAR Not disclosed |
Document |
| Jonzing World Entertainment Ltd, UK Company 13751901, Was Struck Off the Register on 6 February 2024, Twenty Days Before Universal Announced Its Mavin Investment. Rema’s Copyright Line Has Named the Company on Nine Titles Since. |
|
Jonzing World |
None. A voluntary strike-off is not a transfer and carries no consideration. |
Document |
| Warner Music Group Has Been Africori Limited’s Controlling Shareholder Since 20 December 2021, 23 Days Before It Announced the Stake. Warner’s Own SEC Exhibits Called the Company Mauritian for Two More Years. |
Acquisition |
Africori, Warner Music Group |
Not disclosed Not disclosed |
Document |
| Big Machine Music Signed Cape Town’s Will Linley For Publishing In May 2025. When Scott Borchetta Reacquired The Big Machine Records Name In February 2026, The Publisher Stayed With HYBE America. |
Publishing |
Big Machine Music, HYBE, Island Records |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Masterpiece YVK’s Masters Carried Kabza De Small’s Piano Hub for Four Years and Eight Months. Since the Universal Signing the Credit Reads ‘YVK Records / Universal Music (Pty) Ltd’, an Imprint Named in No Announcement and No Registry. |
Distribution |
YVK Records, Universal Music (Pty) Ltd (ZA), Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd, Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Kwesta’s Sony Licence Named Him Personally, Not A Company, For Seven Years. Since December 2022 The Credit Names Dope Dreams Co. (Pty) Ltd And Drops The Licence Wording. |
Licensing |
Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd, Dope Dreams Co. (Pty) Ltd, Urbantainment, Sound African Recordings |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Guchi’s Catalogue Has Carried ‘PG Records Entertainment / MAD Solutions LLC’ Since 2019. The Credit Vanished in 2024 and Returned in 2026. |
Distribution |
PG Records Entertainment, MAD Solutions |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Phyno’s Catalogue Has Carried ‘Penthauze / MAD Solutions LLC’ Since 2022. The Joint Credit States No Structure At All. |
Distribution |
Penthauze, MAD Solutions |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Master KG’s “Billionare Media” Credit Is Jon Delinger’s, Not a New Deal for Him |
Distribution |
Billionare Media, AfricaGrooves (Pty) Ltd |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| The Big Hash’s Masters Are Licensed To Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd, Not Owned By It. The Licensor Is His Own Company, And Its Name Changes Mid-Catalogue. |
Licensing |
Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd, Sound African Recordings, Devo Entity Holdings (Pty) Ltd, Devo Music Group (Pty) Ltd |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| Virgin Music Group Signed a Global Distribution Partnership With Ghana’s MiPROMO in October 2025. No Rights Changed Hands, and Ghana’s Own Company Register Cannot Confirm When MiPROMO Was Founded. |
Distribution |
Virgin Music Group, MiPROMO Limited |
Not disclosed. No fee, revenue split, advance, minimum guarantee or equity is stated in the press release or in any of the six trade reports checked. |
Document |
| Court Testimony Traces GHS 84.48 Million From Menzgold and Brew Marketing Into Zylofon Media |
Settlement |
Menzgold Ghana Limited, Brew Marketing Consult Ghana Limited, Zylofon Music and Media Company Limited |
GHS GHS 84,480,811.00 into Zylofon Media, per a police investigator's High Court testimony: GHS 2,000,000.00 from Menzgold Ghana Limited on 20 July 2018; GHS 26,930,997.00 from Brew Marketing Consult Ghana Limited, March to December 2017; GHS 55,549,814.00 from a Brew Marketing Consult account at Bank of Africa, January to April 2018. The same testimony separately states GHS 155,552,141.30 moved into NAM1's personal account and GHS 66,000,000.00 by cheque to his sister, Abigail Mensah, from Brew Consult; those two figures are not included in this GHS 84,480,811.00 total, which covers only money into Zylofon Media. Separately, the criminal charge against NAM1, Menzgold and Brew Marketing states GHS 1.68 billion in total customer deposits were taken into the wider Menzgold scheme across 2016 to 2018, a larger and distinct figure not summed with the GHS 84,480,811.00 headline amount of this record. |
Document |
| Partisan Records Licensed Femi Kuti and Mádé Kuti Recordings to Chocolate City for Nigeria. Six Editions Carry the Credit, They Exist in No Other Storefront, and Neither Party Announced It. |
|
Partisan Records, Chocolate City Group |
Not disclosed |
Document |
| The EFCC Charged Jude Okoye and Northside Music With Laundering P-Square Royalties. His Brother Peter Then Admitted Under Oath He Kept Every Naira He Collected Too |
Settlement |
Northside Music Limited, Northside Entertainment Limited |
Two overlapping but not identical figures across two prosecutions, not summed here. Federal High Court charge: approximately N1.38 billion, million and 34,537.59 pounds sterling, per the EFCC's own arraignment announcement. Special Offences Court charge: over million and 34,537 pounds sterling in royalties allegedly diverted between 2016 and 2023, per trade-press accounts of the 4 March 2025 arraignment. Separately, Peter Okoye testified on 21 September 2026 to personally receiving approximately $800,000 in SACEM royalties between 2016 and 2026. Bail: N100 million (two sureties) in the Federal High Court matter, reported N50 million in the Special Offences Court matter. One Federal High Court count concerns a property valued at N850 million. |
Document |
| Universal Music Africa’s 2021 Youssou N’Dour Deal Was Distribution, Not Ownership. The Credit Stops in December 2022, and 30 Catalogue Titles Reappeared in 2025 Under His Own Company. |
Distribution, Publishing |
Youssou N’Dour & TBI Publishing S.A., Universal Music Africa, Universal Music Group, Because Editions |
Not disclosed Not disclosed. Universal Music Africa's press release of 12 October 2021 states no figure, advance, royalty rate, minimum commitment or fee, and describes the term only as multi-year. No later source located states a value. No consideration is disclosed for the 2025 catalogue delivery either, and none is asserted here. |
Document |
| Major League DJz Signed to Atlantic Through a Loan-Out Called Aggrey Space. No Release Has Named Either Since January 2024. |
Licensing |
Aggrey Space, LLC, Atlantic Recording Corporation |
USD Not disclosed. No source located states a figure, advance, term length or royalty rate for the Atlantic Recording Corporation licence at signing in March 2022 or since. |
Document |