Skip to content

Music news, business and culture.

Join Newsletter

Masterpiece YVK’s Masters Carried Kabza De Small’s Piano Hub for Four Years and Eight Months. Since the Universal Signing the Credit Reads ‘YVK Records / Universal Music (Pty) Ltd’, an Imprint Named in No Announcement and No Registry.

Deal sheet

Status
Unresolved
Type
Distribution
Parties
YVK Records, Universal Music (Pty) Ltd (ZA), Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd, Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd
Amount
Not disclosed
Rights covered
Sound recordings only. No publishing or composition right is covered by this record, and the publishing position could not be established at all, see the caveat.

WHAT THE DOCUMENTS STATE, VERBATIM.

Period one, 16 October 2020 to 24 June 2025. Twelve releases in Apple's catalogue for Masterpiece YVK (Apple artist ID 1536150832) carry a phonogram line naming Piano Hub. Nine of the twelve are billed to Masterpiece YVK alone: "Bae Wama 2000" (16 October 2020), "Mapakisha" (26 March 2021), "Iy'poko" single (1 October 2021), "Iy'poko – EP" (14 October 2021), "Gubezela" (24 June 2022), the album "SON OF A KING" (3 November 2022), "Nana" (20 October 2023), "Back To The Streets – EP" (29 March 2024) and "Ke Dezemba" (29 November 2024). Three are co-billed with other artists: "Hamba Nawe" (8 September 2023), "Shawara" (27 September 2024) and "Master Wenzani" (24 June 2025).

The wording on nine of those twelve is "South Africa – Piano Hub, exclusively distributed under Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd". On three of them, "Bae Wama 2000", "Mapakisha" and "Master Wenzani", the same formula carries the corporate suffix: "Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd". That wording places Piano Hub in the rights-holder position and Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd in the distributor position. On the face of the document Sony neither owned nor licensed those masters. It distributed them.

Piano Hub is not the artist's own label. It is the label founded and owned by the producer Kabelo Motha, known as Kabza De Small, and it has carried his solo catalogue since 2019. So for four years and eight months the party claiming copyright in Masterpiece YVK's recordings, on the face of the credit, was a company belonging to another artist.

Period two, from 5 June 2026. The single "Romano" (collection 6773245646) and the fourteen-track album "The Italian Job" (collection 6813492920, scheduled 30 October 2026 and listed for pre-order when read) both read "(P) 2026 YVK Records/ Universal Music (Pty) Ltd". Piano Hub is gone from the line. Sony is gone from the line. A slash-form joint credit identifies neither a licensor nor a licensee and supports no conclusion about who owns the recordings it covers.

Two further 2026 releases carry Universal's South African company in a different wording, "(P) 2026 Universal Music (Pty) Ltd South Africa": "Vimba" (10 April 2026) and "Ngena Ngena" (10 July 2026). Neither is billed to Masterpiece YVK. "Vimba" is billed to Still That Combo and Beast Rsa, "Ngena Ngena" to Fake'well, Uncool MC and Scotts Maphuma, with him as a featured artist. A phonogram line on a guest feature records the lead artist's rights holder, not the featured artist's, so neither release is evidence about his own agreement. They are recorded because "Vimba" is the first appearance of the Universal name anywhere in his Apple catalogue and it predates the announcement by roughly a month.

Deezer's catalogue API, read the same day, gives label "Universal Music (Pty) Ltd." for "Romano" (album 993626521, UPC 881061010432), "Vimba" (953518531, UPC 199957758093), "Ngena Ngena" (1020134371, UPC 199957961295) and "Sang Sokodisa" (1081528632, UPC 881061625179, released 25 September 2026). It gives label "Piano Hub" for "Iy'poko" (UPC 886449655977), "SON OF A KING" (196589605979), "Back To The Streets" (196871831987), "Ke Dezemba" (196872681505) and "Master Wenzani" (196873313542). Deezer does not name YVK Records on any product.

Territory
Not stated by any party. No territory, term, option or reversion trigger appears in any document located.

The words "South Africa" open the Piano Hub-era phonogram lines and the Sound African Recordings line. That prefix identifies the country of the copyright claim, not the scope of any grant, and no national, continental or worldwide licence can be inferred from it. The two Universal-era own-billed credits carry no country prefix at all.

The credit wording does not vary by storefront. Apple's catalogue for artist ID 1536150832 was read in the South African, United States, United Kingdom and Nigerian storefronts on 26 September 2026 and returned identical phonogram lines on every release in all four. That is recorded as an observation about metadata delivery, not as evidence that any licence is worldwide.

Announced
2026-05-12
Primary document
Rights registry
Sources
Apple catalogue lookup for Masterpiece YVK (Apple artist ID 1536150832), South African storefront, HTTP 200, resultCount 31 comprising one artist record and 30 collections, read 26 September 2026. Primary source for every phonogram line, collection ID and release date in this record. Full-payload string counts from that read: "Piano Hub" 12, "Sony Music Entertainment Africa" 17, "Universal Music (Pty) Ltd" 4, "YVK Records" 2, "Ziiki Media" 2, "New Money Gang" 2, "Sound African Recordings" 1, "Kreative Kornerr" 1. · Apple catalogue lookup, United States storefront, HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. Phonogram lines identical to the South African storefront on every release. Repeated for the United Kingdom and Nigerian storefronts with the same result. · Deezer catalogue API, artist 110607882, HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. total 26. Independent second DSP registry, used to corroborate the label change and to establish that Deezer does not name YVK Records. · Deezer album record for "Romano", HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. release_date 2026-06-05, UPC 881061010432, label "Universal Music (Pty) Ltd.". The same product Apple credits to "YVK Records/ Universal Music (Pty) Ltd". · Deezer album record for "Master Wenzani", HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. release_date 2025-06-24, UPC 196873313542, label "Piano Hub". Last product in the catalogue carrying the Piano Hub credit. · MusicBrainz release search, HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. count 3. "SON OF A KING" (2022-11-03, barcode 0196589605979) and "Master Wenzani" (2025-06-23, barcode 196873313542) both label-info "Piano Hub". "Manzi Nte" label-info "Sony Music". No 2026 release is indexed, consistent with poor registry coverage of new releases. · MusicBrainz label search, HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. count 0. No label of that name exists in the registry. · MusicBrainz label search, HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. count 1, MBID b57be73e-e282-4eb4-a428-fb98be903302. Label detail returns country null, area null, type null, label-code null, no aliases, no ISNI, no IPI, life-span begin null. A registry entry with no corporate detail attached. · Trade report, published 18 May 2026, read in full 26 September 2026. Headline and body describe a "recording deal" with Universal Music South Africa. Carries the artist quote: "This is a dream come true and a huge moment for me and my team. Signing with Universal Music South Africa represents growth, opportunity, and the chance to take my music to the world." Contains no reference to masters, publishing, territory, term, money, a previous label, Piano Hub, Kabza De Small, Sony or YVK Records. · Trade report, published 12 May 2026, read in full 26 September 2026. Earliest dated document located on the signing, and the source of the announced date in this record. Reproduces the artist Instagram post: "Growing up, I admired stories about power, loyalty and legacy. Movies where one decision could change a family's future forever. Today felt like one of those scenes. Now that we have the inspiration, it's time to create our own story together with @universalmusicsa". Refers to Universal Music South Africa throughout. Makes no mention of Sony, Piano Hub, Kabza De Small, masters, ownership or YVK Records. · Vivendi Universal, Form 20-F, period ended 31 December 2000, filed 2 July 2001, Exhibit 8.1 SUBSIDIARIES, read 26 September 2026. Line 13736 lists "Universal Music (Pty) Ltd." organised under the laws of RSA. The only document on SEC EDGAR naming the entity that appears on the 2026 credit lines. · SEC EDGAR full-text search, HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. hits.total 0. Searches for "Piano Hub" and "Sony Music Entertainment Africa" also returned 0. Expected: none of these are SEC registrants. · Universal Music South Africa official site, HTTP 200, read 26 September 2026. No mention of the artist on the homepage. /news and /artists both returned HTTP 404. No official announcement of the signing could be located on any Universal channel.

Read this before citing: THIS IS NOT A RECORD OF A DISCLOSED TRANSACTION. What was announced in May 2026 was a signing. No acquisition, master purchase, catalogue sale, assignment or reversion is claimed here and none is evidenced. What is established is narrower: a six-year run of phonogram credit lines in two registries, which changes twice, read directly by this desk.

NO AMOUNT EXISTS ANYWHERE. No advance, fee, royalty rate, equity, term length or minimum commitment appears in any source located, for either the Piano Hub period or the Universal period. "Not disclosed" is the accurate entry, not a placeholder for a figure this desk failed to find. No currency is recorded for the same reason.

NO OWNERSHIP BY UNIVERSAL IS ASSERTED. "YVK Records/ Universal Music (Pty) Ltd" is a slash credit. It is consistent with Universal owning the masters, with Universal licensing them from an artist-side vehicle, with Universal distributing them, and with a joint venture. This desk does not choose between those readings and no document supports choosing.

NO OWNERSHIP BY PIANO HUB IS ASSERTED EITHER, BEYOND WHAT THE LINE SAYS. A phonogram line records who claims copyright in a recording as delivered to a service. It is drafted by the party delivering the product. It has not been tested against any underlying agreement, it can be wrong, stale or abbreviated, and this desk has read no contract and does not claim to have. What is reported is that the claimant named was Piano Hub, not that Piano Hub holds good title.

YVK RECORDS MAY NOT BE A COMPANY. The string appears exactly twice in the Apple payload and nowhere else this desk could reach. MusicBrainz label search for "YVK" returned count 0. Deezer's label field for the same product names Universal alone. No registration, director, shareholder or address was located. The name corresponds to the artist's stage name and the obvious reading is that it is his own vehicle, but no filing, share register or statement confirms it, and this record stops short of the claim.

THE APPLE AND DEEZER DIVERGENCE IS NOT NECESSARILY A CONTRADICTION. A phonogram line and a DSP label field are different metadata fields with different conventions, populated from different parts of the same delivery. The divergence is recorded because it means a reader checking one service would not learn the imprint exists, not because either service is asserted to be wrong.

THE CHANGE OF CREDIT IS NOT EVIDENCE OF A TERMINATION. The disappearance of the Piano Hub credit is consistent with an agreement expiring, being terminated, being renegotiated, never having covered the later products, or with nothing more than a change in who delivers the metadata. Nothing establishes that any agreement ended, that any right reverted, or that any party is in dispute. No dispute between Masterpiece YVK and Piano Hub, Kabza De Small or Sony has been reported anywhere read by this desk.

THE FATE OF THE EARLIER CATALOGUE IS UNKNOWN, NOT TRANSFERRED. The twelve Piano Hub-credited releases still carry the Piano Hub credit today. Nothing states whether the Universal agreement covers them, whether any right in them moved, or whether it was ever contemplated. This record does not assert that they moved and does not assert that they did not.

"VIMBA" IS NOT EVIDENCE THAT THE DEAL PREDATES THE ANNOUNCEMENT. The Universal name first appears in his Apple catalogue on 10 April 2026, about a month before the signing was made public, but on a release he does not lead. The phonogram claim on a guest feature belongs to the lead artist's rights holder. The timing is recorded as a fact about the catalogue and expressly not as evidence about when he signed.

"THE ITALIAN JOB" HAD NOT BEEN RELEASED WHEN THIS WAS WRITTEN. Apple lists it with a release date of 30 October 2026, fourteen tracks, and placeholder track titles for the unreleased material. Its credit line is already published in Apple's catalogue and is quoted from there. A scheduled release can be re-dated, re-credited or withdrawn.

NO OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENT FROM UNIVERSAL WAS LOCATED. Universal Music South Africa publishes no reachable newsroom. umgsa.africa returned HTTP 404 on /news and on /artists, and its homepage did not mention the artist when read on 26 September 2026. Every account of the signing available to this desk is trade press or aggregation, some of it visibly sharing wording. The artist's own words are quoted from an Instagram post reproduced in trade coverage, not from the post itself.

ONE WIDELY SUMMARISED CLAIM WAS CHECKED AND IS FALSE. A search engine summary presented to this desk stated that one outlet had reported Masterpiece YVK signing to Sony Music Africa rather than Universal, and offered it as a conflict in the record. The article named was fetched and read in full. It refers to Universal Music South Africa throughout and does not mention Sony. There is no such conflict and none is reported here.

THE PUBLISHING SIDE COULD NOT BE ESTABLISHED AT ALL. This record covers sound recordings. No publisher, administrator or society registration for any Masterpiece YVK composition was located. SAMRO publishes no reachable public works search. No party has announced a publishing deal. This is recorded as unknown, not as absent.

THE ONLY REGULATORY FILING NAMING THE UNIVERSAL ENTITY IS TWENTY-FIVE YEARS OLD. SEC EDGAR full-text search for "Universal Music (Pty)" returns exactly one document: Vivendi Universal's Form 20-F for the period ended 31 December 2000, filed 2 July 2001, whose Exhibit 8.1 subsidiaries schedule lists "Universal Music (Pty) Ltd." organised under the laws of RSA. That establishes the entity existed as a group subsidiary then. It says nothing about its structure, ownership or authority in 2026. Universal Music Group is listed on Euronext Amsterdam and is not an SEC registrant, so no current filing was available. Searches for "Masterpiece YVK", "Piano Hub" and "Sony Music Entertainment Africa" each returned 0 hits, which is expected and not probative.

SOURCE HYGIENE. Every date, collection ID, UPC, string count and verbatim credit line in this record was taken from a document this desk fetched and read on 26 September 2026. The Apple payload was re-fetched and re-parsed independently before publication rather than carried over from an earlier capture, and that re-parse corrected an earlier reading of this catalogue by this desk: "Vimba" and "Ngena Ngena" were initially treated as own-billed releases and are not.

On 12 May 2026 the South African amapiano artist Masterpiece YVK announced that he had signed with Universal Music South Africa. Trade coverage described it as a recording deal. No party has stated what rights it covers, for which territory, for what term, or for what money.

This record sets that announcement against the only documents that describe the rights position on his recordings: the phonogram credit lines in Apple’s catalogue registry, the label field in Deezer’s catalogue API, and the MusicBrainz label registry. It records three things the announcement does not.

First, for four years and eight months before the signing, the phonogram claim on his releases named Piano Hub, the label of a different artist, Kabza De Small, with Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd named on the same line as exclusive distributor. Second, the first own-billed release after the signing carries a joint slash credit naming an imprint, YVK Records, that appears in no announcement, no trade report, no company register and no other registry. Third, Apple and Deezer describe the same product differently: Apple’s phonogram line names the imprint, Deezer’s label field does not.

Nothing in any source states what happened to the twelve Piano Hub-credited releases. They still carry that credit.

Share this story

Written by

Yewande Coker

Yewande Coker is Afrobeats Wire's business editor. She covers the money side of African music: catalogue acquisitions, distribution and publishing deal structures, label finances, and the ownership chains behind the continent's biggest rights.

More from this desk →

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

Pick your tempo

Who owns what, who got paid, and who is about to. The business behind African music, told like it is actually interesting (because it is).

  • The deals and catalogue sales nobody put out a press release for
  • Chart moves and streaming numbers we actually fact-checked (wild, we know)
  • Fresh names added to the directory, vetted before you ever see them

Free forever Ghost us anytime, one click

Get the inside track from Afrobeats Wire

Choose your speed. We will handle the rest.

How fast do you want it?

Your inbox is sacred. This address is used for the newsletter and nothing else, never sold, never passed on. Privacy policy.