Deal sheet
- Status
- Announced 11 March 2026 by Universal Music Group East Africa as a "strategic partnership" with Kaka Empire. First observable effect in stores: a single, "Braggadocious", released 29 May 2026, 79 days after the announcement, carrying a Universal phonogram credit. Second and last observable effect: the album "Year Of The Pen", released 3 July 2026, carrying the same credit. NO THIRD. King Kaka's most recent release as at the date of this record, "Ni Noma (feat. Nyawira Siren)" of 25 September 2026, carries the phonogram credit "(P) 2026 Kaka Empire" and does not name Universal. NOT ESTABLISHED: whether the arrangement is subsisting, has expired, has been terminated, covers only nominated titles, or has a delivery pending. No party has stated a commencement date, a term or an expiry for anything described in this record. The 11 March 2026 date in afw_deal_announced is the date of the public announcement, not a contract date; no contract date is public. Catalogue read 29 September 2026.
- Type
- Distribution
- Parties
- Kaka Empire, Universal Music Group East Africa, Universal Music Kenya Limited, Universal Music Group
- Amount
- Not disclosed Not disclosed
- Rights covered
- NOT STATED BY ANY PARTY. This is the central finding of the record and it must not be softened into something more definite. The phonogram credit on both Universal-credited releases reads, in full: "(P) 2026 King Kaka / Universal Music Kenya Limited". It uses a SLASH. It does NOT contain the words "under exclusive licence to", "under exclusive licence from", "under exclusive license to", "under exclusive license from", "distributed by", "assigned", or any other rights verb. Those phrases are what would establish direction and character. None is present. THIS RECORD THEREFORE DOES NOT ASSERT THAT UNIVERSAL OWNS, CO-OWNS, LICENSES OR DISTRIBUTES THESE RECORDINGS, and must not be cited as reporting any of those. What is established is narrower and is stated exactly: two named Universal entities appear as label of record or co-claimant on two named 2026 releases.
MASTER RECORDINGS, THE WIDER CATALOGUE: unchanged on the face of the credits. Of 72 albums and singles in King Kaka's Apple Music Kenyan storefront catalogue read 29 September 2026, 56 carry a phonogram line naming Kaka Empire, 2 name Universal, and 14 name neither. The 14 are credited to other parties on whose releases King Kaka appears as a guest, including Sol Generation Records, Ziiki Media, Black Market Records, BrathaHood Music, Stage Presence Media and Muks Entertainment; one is credited to "Kennedy Ombima Aka Rabbit Kaka Sungura" personally ("Kesi", 2020) and one returns the literal string "Not Applicable" ("Regular", 2018). Kaka Empire credits run from "Adisia", released 14 November 2012, to "Ni Noma", released 25 September 2026, a span of fourteen years.
PUBLISHING: NOT ADDRESSED by any source read for this record. No publisher or administrator has been identified for King Kaka's or any Kaka Empire writer's compositions. The Music Copyright Society of Kenya was not searched for writer registrations and no publishing claim of any kind is made here.
THE ROSTER CLAIM, TESTED AND NOT BORNE OUT ON THE CREDITS. Universal's statement described support for "upcoming releases for the label's artists", plural, at label level. Releases by named Kaka Empire roster artists dated after 11 March 2026 carry NO Universal credit. Femi One: "Tuzitoke", 23 April 2026, "(P) 2026 KAKA EMPIRE"; "Bumperr", 15 July 2026, "(P) 2026 KAKA EMPIRE". JADI: releases credited JADIWINSMUSIC or KAKA EMPIRE. Bridget Blue: credits naming Digitone Music Group and ONErpm, a different distributor entirely. The wording is NOT consistent between her releases and is therefore not quoted as a single string: observed variants include "Digitone Music group, with exclusive license to ONErpm" (Pumua, 29 January 2025), "Digitone Music group, Distributed exclusively by ONErpm" (Mbuzi, 25 April 2025) and "Digitone Music Group, Under Exclusive License to ONErpm under exclusive license to ONErpm" (RNB, 31 March 2026, doubled wording in the source field). Pascal Tokodi: no releases dated 2025-01-01 or later were returned. On the credits available, a partnership announced at label level has produced a Universal credit on ZERO roster releases; every Universal credit attaches to King Kaka personally.
- Territory
- NOT STATED BY ANY PARTY. The 11 March 2026 announcement names no territory. The MusicBrainz release record for "Year Of The Pen" carries country XW, meaning worldwide, which is a statement about where the release is registered as available and is NOT a statement of contractual territory; it must not be read as one. Credit lines were read in both the Kenyan and United States Apple storefronts (72 and 73 items respectively) and are identical on every item cross-checked, which evidences availability and rules out a storefront-specific metadata artefact. It does not evidence licence scope.
- Announced
- 2026-03-11
- Primary document
- Rights registry
- Sources
- Apple Music / iTunes catalogue record for King Kaka, artistId 1066360174, Kenyan storefront, queried directly by this desk on 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200). Returns 72 album-level items. This is the source of every count in this record and of the verbatim credit line that carries its central finding. The copyright field on "Braggadocious" (collectionId 6770882911, released 29 May 2026) and on "Year Of The Pen" (collectionId 6779434865, released 3 July 2026) returns, identically: "(P) 2026 King Kaka / Universal Music Kenya Limited". The copyright field on "Ni Noma (feat. Nyawira Siren)" (collectionId 6813810211, released 25 September 2026) returns "(P) 2026 Kaka Empire". A phonogram credit is a claim made by the party who delivered the audio file. It is the best routinely available evidence of the rights position asserted at delivery, and it is not a contract and is not filed with any regulator. · MusicBrainz release record for "Year Of The Pen", MBID ed098e9d-4ae7-4190-b937-310e86940996, fetched by this desk on 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200). Date 2026-07-03, status Official, country XW (worldwide), label-info names the label "Universal Music Kenya" (note: WITHOUT the word Limited that appears in the phonogram credit), label MBID 0f15a3a8-f376-4dd4-b70e-eb296226bd65, NO catalogue number. This is the ONLY one of King Kaka's seven MusicBrainz releases with any label recorded against it at all. An independent registry naming a Universal Kenya entity as label of record on the same album is the second leg of the verification. Label of record and copyright owner are not the same thing and this source is not cited for ownership. · The machine-readable form of the same MusicBrainz release record, re-fetched and re-parsed by this desk on 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200) immediately before this record was written, to confirm the label-info block had not changed since first reading. · Apple Music / iTunes catalogue record for the same artistId in the United States storefront, queried 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200). Returns 73 album-level items and IDENTICAL credit lines on all four 2026 releases. This is the control that rules out the Universal credit being a Kenya-only metadata artefact, and it is why this record states the credit lines as fact rather than as a storefront observation. · Apple Music / iTunes catalogue record for Femi One, artistId 1077615187, Kenyan storefront, queried 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200). Sole source for the roster finding. Her two post-announcement releases, "Tuzitoke" (23 April 2026) and "Bumperr" (15 July 2026), both return "(P) 2026 KAKA EMPIRE" with no mention of Universal. · Carriage dated 12 March 2026 reproducing Universal's statement in its own name, fetched and read in full by this desk on 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200). Source for the verbatim statement quoted in the copy: "Through this partnership, Kaka Empire will leverage UMG's infrastructure and industry expertise to support upcoming releases for the label's artists while preserving its creative direction." CRITICAL NEGATIVE FINDING, verified by reading the full text: the statement does NOT use the words licence, license, distribution, assignment, acquisition, master, publishing or copyright; it names no territory, no term and no consideration; and it names the counterparty as Universal Music Group East Africa, not Universal Music Kenya Limited. · Trade carriage of the same 11 March 2026 announcement, fetched and read by this desk on 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200). Corroborates the announcement date and the "strategic partnership" characterisation. States no right, territory, term or figure. · Human-readable Apple Music release page for "Year Of The Pen", Kenyan storefront, confirmed resolving by this desk on 29 September 2026 (HTTP 200). Carried so the credit line can be checked by a reader without an API call. · MusicBrainz label entity "KAKA EMPIRE", MBID c1625060-b19f-481b-8216-ffb7d822ce02, read 29 September 2026. No country recorded. Establishes that Kaka Empire exists as a registered label entity in the same registry, separately from the Universal Music Kenya entity. Establishes nothing about ownership or incorporation.
Read this before citing: THE ONE THING THIS RECORD MUST NOT BE MISREAD ON. No party has stated what kind of arrangement this is. The phonogram credit "(P) 2026 King Kaka / Universal Music Kenya Limited" uses a slash and contains no rights verb. It does not say Universal owns these recordings, and this record does not report that it does. It does not say Universal licenses them, and this record does not report that either. It does not say Universal distributes them. Any citation of this record as reporting that Universal acquired, owns, licensed or distributes King Kaka's catalogue is a misreading of it. The deal-type term "Distribution" is attached to this record because it is the closest available bucket in a taxonomy that requires one, and because the announcement's own language ("infrastructure and industry expertise to support upcoming releases") is services language rather than ownership language. THE TERM IS A FILING CONVENIENCE AND IS NOT A FINDING. No party used the word distribution.
CONTRADICTION 1, ON PARTIES. The announcement names "Universal Music Group East Africa". The phonogram credit names "Universal Music Kenya Limited". MusicBrainz names the label "Universal Music Kenya", without the word Limited. Whether these are one operating entity under three renderings, two entities or three COULD NOT BE ESTABLISHED. All three are carried as, or alongside, separate company records for that reason, and no corporate relationship between any of them is asserted. The shared word "Universal" is not evidence of common ownership.
CONTRADICTION 2, ON THE SUBJECT OF THE DEAL. The announcement was made WITH KAKA EMPIRE, a label, and described support for "the label's artists", plural. The credit line names KING KAKA, an individual. No Kaka Empire roster release carries a Universal credit. This record publishes that mismatch as a finding and does not resolve it, because no party has addressed it.
CONTRADICTION 3, ON DATES. Carriage of the announcement dated 11 March 2026 states the album would be released on 27 March 2026. Both MusicBrainz and both Apple storefronts record the actual release of "Year Of The Pen" as 3 July 2026, which is 98 days later. No party has published any explanation for the gap. This is recorded as a documented discrepancy between the announcement and the registries, not as an allegation against anyone.
THE DISAPPEARANCE OF THE CREDIT IS OBSERVED, NOT EXPLAINED. King Kaka's most recent release, "Ni Noma (feat. Nyawira Siren)" of 25 September 2026, carries "(P) 2026 Kaka Empire" and no Universal credit. That is observed directly in two storefronts. WHY is not established. It is consistent with the arrangement having ended, with it covering only nominated titles, with a pending delivery, or with nothing at all. This record does not choose between those and no source supports choosing between them. It specifically does NOT assert that the arrangement has terminated.
CONSIDERATION. No advance, royalty rate, fee, revenue split, equity or other consideration has been disclosed by any party. "Not disclosed" is the accurate answer and no figure should be added to this record without a source that states one. No source read states one.
WHY THE KENYAN REGISTER COULD NOT BE CHECKED, AND WHAT WAS TRIED. Kenya's Business Registration Service publishes no open company-search API or public search interface. No registration number, incorporation date, director or shareholder was obtained for Universal Music Kenya Limited or for Kaka Empire, and neither is asserted to be a registered company on the strength of its name alone. Nigeria's Corporate Affairs Commission and the United Kingdom Companies House register are not applicable to Kenyan companies. SEC full-text search was run on 29 September 2026: "Kaka Empire" returned 0 hits; the unquoted "Universal Music Kenya" returned 100 results, all mutual-fund global operations documents matching the words separately, none of which names a Kenyan music company. Neither party is a United States registrant and no securities filing evidences anything in this record. Any future run that obtains Kenyan register data should amend this record rather than create a new one.
UNIVERSAL'S OWN NEWSROOM COULD NOT BE REACHED. This record would carry source type "newsroom" if a first-party Universal press release had been obtainable. It was not. The 11 March 2026 statement is therefore sourced from carriage that reproduces it verbatim in Universal's own name, and the source type on this record is "registry", reflecting the storefront credit line that carries the evidential load rather than the announcement.
CHINASA UDEALA IS NOT QUOTED ON THIS DEAL. Chinasa Udeala is on the public record as Managing Director, Universal Music Group East Africa, and is quoted in a SEPARATE announcement of 12 March 2026 concerning the artist Juanita Tunu. She is NOT quoted in the Kaka Empire announcement, and no statement about this arrangement is attributed to her in this record or in the copy.
WHAT A PHONOGRAM CREDIT IS AND IS NOT. Every finding in this record derives from (P) lines read in commercial storefronts and from an open registry. A (P) line is a claim made by whoever delivered the audio file. It is the strongest routinely available evidence of the rights position a party asserts at delivery, and it is the basis on which this desk publishes credit-line investigations. It is not a contract, it is not filed with any regulator, and it can be wrong or stale. No contract, term sheet or filing for this arrangement has been seen by this desk, because none is public.
NOT INVESTIGATED. Publishing was not addressed by any source read and no publisher or administrator is identified for any Kaka Empire writer. The Music Copyright Society of Kenya repertory was not searched. Streaming revenue, chart performance and audience data form no part of this record.
On 11 March 2026 Universal Music Group East Africa announced a “strategic partnership” with Kaka Empire, the Nairobi record label founded by Kennedy Ombima, who records as King Kaka. In its own statement Universal said: “Through this partnership, Kaka Empire will leverage UMG’s infrastructure and industry expertise to support upcoming releases for the label’s artists while preserving its creative direction.”
No party stated what rights were involved, for which territory, for what term, or for what consideration. The announcement contains no rights verb.
Two releases carry a Universal phonogram credit: the single Braggadocious, released 29 May 2026, and the album Year Of The Pen, released 3 July 2026. Both read, identically: “℗ 2026 King Kaka / Universal Music Kenya Limited”. The credit names King Kaka personally rather than Kaka Empire, and names Universal Music Kenya Limited rather than the Universal Music Group East Africa that made the announcement. It uses a slash and contains no rights verb, so it does not state whether Universal owns, co-owns, licenses or distributes the recordings. This record does not assert any of those.
Of 72 album-level items in King Kaka’s Apple Music Kenyan storefront catalogue read on 29 September 2026, 56 carry a phonogram line naming Kaka Empire, 2 name Universal and 14 name other parties. The United States storefront returns 73 items and identical credit lines. King Kaka’s most recent release as at that date, Ni Noma (feat. Nyawira Siren) of 25 September 2026, reads “℗ 2026 Kaka Empire” and does not name Universal.
MusicBrainz records Year Of The Pen against the label “Universal Music Kenya”, without the word Limited, with no catalogue number. It is the only one of King Kaka’s seven releases in that registry with any label recorded against it.
Releases by named Kaka Empire roster artists dated after the announcement carry no Universal credit. Femi One’s Tuzitoke (23 April 2026) and Bumperr (15 July 2026) both read “℗ 2026 KAKA EMPIRE”.
Three contradictions are recorded and not resolved: the announcing entity is not the entity in the credit line; the announcement was made at label level but every Universal credit attaches to one individual; and carriage of the announcement gave an album release date of 27 March 2026 against an actual release of 3 July 2026, 98 days later.
Kenya publishes no open company register, so the legal existence, incorporation and shareholders of Universal Music Kenya Limited and of Kaka Empire could not be confirmed. Neither party is a United States registrant and securities full-text search returned nothing on either.
