Skip to content

Music news, business and culture.

Join Newsletter

Virgin Music Group Named Seven Ghanaian Acts in Its Rain Labs Deal. Two of Them Already Had Credit Lines Pointing Somewhere Else.

Virgin Music Group logo

On 5 February 2025 Virgin Music Group announced a partnership with Rain Labs, a music company operating out of Accra and London. What moved was distribution and services. No master recording was assigned, no publishing right was transferred, no equity changed hands, and no amount was disclosed. The more interesting change is one the announcement never mentions: over the following months, on the label copy of the releases themselves, Rain Labs moved into the position its artists’ own companies used to occupy.

What actually changed hands#

Virgin Music Group is the label and artist services division of Universal Music Group. Its announcement was datelined Lagos, led by Virgin Music Group Nigeria and quoting managing director Olukorede Ikazoboh, and it sets the scope out in service terms: digital distribution, marketing, creative production and brand partnerships, delivered to what it calls over 128 digital streaming platforms.

Now read what is absent. No assignment of master recordings. No transfer or administration of publishing copyright, and no publisher or administrator for any Rain Labs songwriter could be established from any document this desk checked. No equity stake. No consideration of any kind: no advance, no distribution fee, no revenue split, no minimum guarantee. No term, no renewal provision, no stated territory. On each of those the answer is not disclosed, and that is what gets published here.

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

The announcement also never uses the word exclusive. Rain Labs’ co-founder Albert Donkor, who records as Trebla, did use it in an interview two days later, calling the distribution partnership exclusive while adding that the company remains open to working with other labels. Those are not necessarily in conflict, since an exclusive on distribution and an open door on label partnerships are different arrangements, but no document reconciles them and this desk will not invent the reconciliation.

The credit line is the document#

The phonogram line, the one that begins with the circled P, records who asserts the sound recording right and on what basis. It is not the distributor’s line. So Virgin Music Group appearing on none of the credit lines across this roster is not a gotcha, it is what a distribution agreement looks like from outside. Distribution moved. Ownership did not.

What they do show is a change inside Rain Labs’ own position, with a direction and a date. The earlier formulation reads as the artist’s own entity, under exclusive rights or exclusive licence to rain. Labs. Baaba J’s 2022 and 2023 releases read that way, as do Cina Soul’s Plenty Evil of 21 September 2023 and Kofee Bean’s Garden Lily of 4 August 2023. In that form the artist’s company asserts the right and Rain Labs is the licensee.

The later formulation reverses the order: rain. Labs, under exclusive licence from the artist’s entity. The earliest instance found is Joey B’s Suzzy Williams, dated 25 April 2025. Kofee Bean’s Why follows on 1 May 2025, Ess thee Legend’s Crave on 16 May 2025, and by 2026 it is the standard form across the roster.

Ownership does not move in that reversal. An exclusive licence is granted, so the licensor still holds the underlying right. What moves is which party is named first, as the one asserting the phonogram right: a real shift in a services company’s posture, from supplier standing behind the artist’s entity to licensee standing in front of it.

Two cautions, not in a footnote. Causation is not established: the reversal begins roughly eleven weeks after the announcement and no document connects the two. And a phonogram line is metadata as filed, so it is evidence about the credit, not the contract.

The seven names, and what their catalogues say#

The announcement named Joey B, Cina Soul, Baaba J, MAUIMØON, Kofee Bean, Ess the Legend and AD DJ. Three of those names do not behave the way the announcement implies.

Joey B carried no Rain Labs credit of any kind when he was named. His releases through 19 December 2023 read World Records, his own label. The first rain. Labs line on his catalogue is Suzzy Williams on 25 April 2025, eleven weeks later. A 2026 single, News at 7 of 21 May, reverts to World Records and Sam and Sons with no Rain Labs credit, while releases either side of it carry one.

Cina Soul’s most recent credit before the announcement pointed elsewhere. Her Rain Labs credits run from September 2023 to 4 September 2024. From 29 November 2024, more than two months before Virgin named her, her releases read Cina Soul and Ziiki Media, and they still did in March 2026. Ziiki Media is a Johannesburg aggregator with its own African label partnerships, including the Nadia Nakai arrangement of November 2023. Her catalogue also carries a flat metadata contradiction: two entries for the same title dated 9 August 2024, one reading Cina Soul under exclusive rights to rain. Labs, the other reading Cina Soul and Ziiki Media.

Baaba J’s credits point somewhere else again. Her Rain Labs credits stop on 30 June 2023. From 22 March 2024 her releases read Baaba J under exclusive licence to Sede, including an EP on 15 November 2024 and a live EP dated 5 February 2025, the day of the Virgin announcement.

Both were still listed on Rain Labs’ own roster page when it was checked on 10 September 2026. Nothing explains the gap between roster page and credit line, and this desk could not establish whether these are lapsed relationships, parallel ones, or splits by release.

The other four behave as advertised. MAUIMØON, Kofee Bean, Ess thee Legend, whom the announcement spells Ess the Legend, and AD DJ all carry live Rain Labs credits through 2025 and 2026. One further discrepancy: the roster Donkor gave two days later lists MAUIMØON, Anabel Rose, Darkua, Ko-Jo Cue, Yung D3mz, NATAB and Joey B, overlapping with the announcement on two names.

Who owns Rain Labs#

A UK company, RAIN LABS ENTERTAINMENT LTD, sits on the Companies House register under number 13606176. It was incorporated on 7 September 2021, is active, and files under SIC code 93290 from a registered office in Northampton.

Albert Donkor is its sole active person with significant control, notified on 14 April 2023. The nature of control is recorded as significant influence or control with no shareholding band disclosed, so the register does not establish what percentage he holds. An earlier statement that there was no registrable person was withdrawn the same day. Two Ghanaian directors appointed at incorporation have since gone: Linford Kennedy Amankwaa resigned on 17 August 2026 and Michael Elias Ashkar on 25 August 2026, both of them named in the photograph caption on the Virgin announcement. Benewaah Boateng remains a director alongside Donkor.

What could not be established is whether that UK entity is the contracting party for the Virgin arrangement or a separate vehicle from the Ghanaian operation. A second UK company with a similar name was checked and ruled out: different directors, no Ghana connection.

One last detail. Donkor has said publicly that the company’s distribution previously ran through Vydia, and the partner logo wall on rainlabs.co still carries Vydia alongside Universal Music Group, Sony Music, Warner and Believe marks. There is no Virgin Music Group mark on it.

What this means for artists#

If you are signed to a label services company, the phonogram line on your own releases is the cheapest due diligence available. Look at which name comes first. Your company under exclusive licence to theirs means your entity asserts the right. Their company under exclusive licence from yours means theirs does. Neither transfers ownership by itself, but the order changed on this roster during 2025 and an artist who never looked would not know.

Second, being named in a press release is not a rights position. Two of the seven artists here had credit lines pointing at other companies before it was published. Announcements present relationships as the announcing party wishes them seen that day. Credit lines record what was filed.

Third, a distribution deal with a major’s services division is a pipe, not a purchase. Virgin is supplying delivery, marketing and campaign infrastructure to a Ghanaian company that keeps its artists and its credit lines, the same shape as its South African arrangement with Gallo and Content Connect Africa. If someone tells you a major has signed your label, ask which of the four verbs applies: owns, administers, distributes, or licenses. The answer here, on every document checked, is distributes.

Did Virgin Music Group buy Rain Labs or its masters?#

No. The announcement of 5 February 2025 describes digital distribution, marketing, creative production and brand partnerships. No document checked assigns any master recording, transfers or administers any publishing copyright, or moves equity in Rain Labs. Virgin Music Group appears on no phonogram credit line across the seven artists named, which is consistent with distribution rather than ownership.

How much did the Virgin Music Group and Rain Labs deal cost?#

Not disclosed. Neither party stated an amount, advance, distribution fee, revenue split or minimum guarantee, and no term, renewal provision or contractual territory appears in any document checked. Any figure published elsewhere is not traceable to a source either party has released.

Who owns Rain Labs?#

On the UK register, Albert Donkor is the sole active person with significant control of RAIN LABS ENTERTAINMENT LTD, company number 13606176, notified on 14 April 2023, with the nature of control recorded as significant influence or control and no shareholding band disclosed. No outside investor or parent company is disclosed in any document checked. Whether that UK entity is the contracting party for the Ghanaian operation could not be established.

Share this story

Written by

Yewande Coker

Yewande Coker is Afrobeats Wire's business editor. She covers the money side of African music: catalogue acquisitions, distribution and publishing deal structures, label finances, and the ownership chains behind the continent's biggest rights.

More from this desk →

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

More like this

Pick your tempo

Who owns what, who got paid, and who is about to. The business behind African music, told like it is actually interesting (because it is).

  • The deals and catalogue sales nobody put out a press release for
  • Chart moves and streaming numbers we actually fact-checked (wild, we know)
  • Fresh names added to the directory, vetted before you ever see them

Free forever Ghost us anytime, one click

Get the inside track from Afrobeats Wire

Choose your speed. We will handle the rest.

How fast do you want it?

Your inbox is sacred. This address is used for the newsletter and nothing else, never sold, never passed on. Privacy policy.