Deal sheet
- Status
- Confirmed by phonogram credits verified live across five releases (October 2022-November 2025): T.I Blaze's own catalogue was credited to Dapper Music & Ent / Dvpper Digital Ltd without interruption through the El-Chapo EP, released three and a half months before he went public. T.I Blaze's own claim that Virgin Music Group is directly involved in his masters does not match this credit trail; that specific claim is unconfirmed. A separate, new credit, 'Chokehold' (28 August 2026, (P) 2026 Rhythm Vault), is confirmed and post-dates his public allegations by two weeks. The underlying dispute over unpaid royalties remains contested and unresolved.
- Type
- Licensing
- Parties
- Dapper Music & Entertainment, Dvpper Digital, Virgin Music Group, Rhythm Vault
- Amount
- Not disclosed
- Rights covered
- Master recordings. Phonogram credits verified live on Apple Music read 'Dvpper Music' (El Major, 13 Oct 2022) and then, unbroken, 'Dapper Music & Ent, Under exclusive license to Dvpper Digital Ltd' across Shakur (26 Nov 2024), Shakur Deluxe (4 Apr 2025) and the El-Chapo EP (28 Nov 2025), his last project release before the August 2026 dispute. His next release, 'Chokehold' (28 Aug 2026, two weeks after his public allegations began), carries a new phonogram line verified live on Audiomack: '(P) 2026 Rhythm Vault.' His Audiomack artist profile lists his label as 'RHYTHMVAULT LTD.' Publishing rights are not covered by this record and could not be established.
- Territory
- Not stated by any source checked. Every release across this trail carries a single worldwide-format phonogram credit rather than a territorial split.
- Announced
- 2026-08-28
- Primary document
- Statement from a named party
- Sources
- Direct, on-record statement from Dapper Music & Entertainment founder Damilola Akinwunmi, published 19 August 2026, denying that he sold any signee's catalogue to a distributor or third party and inviting an independent forensic audit; does not name Virgin Music Group and does not address T.I Blaze's specific claim about it · Apple Music listing for El Major (13 October 2022), phonogram credit verified live: (P) 2022 Dvpper Music · Apple Music listing for Shakur (26 November 2024), phonogram credit verified live: (P) 2024 Dapper Music & Ent, Under exclusive license to Dvpper Digital Ltd · Apple Music listing for Shakur (Deluxe) (4 April 2025), phonogram credit verified live: (P) 2025 Dapper Music & Ent, Under exclusive license to Dvpper Digital Ltd · Apple Music listing for the El-Chapo EP (28 November 2025), phonogram credit verified live: (P) 2025 Dapper Music & Ent, Under exclusive license to Dvpper Digital Ltd, three and a half months before T.I Blaze's public allegations · Audiomack listing for Chokehold (28 August 2026), phonogram credit verified live: (P) 2026 Rhythm Vault, the first break in the four-year credit pattern · T.I Blaze's Audiomack artist profile, verified live, listing his label field as RHYTHMVAULT LTD · MusicBrainz rights-registry query for El Major, queried directly, returning zero results · MusicBrainz rights-registry query for Shakur, queried directly, returning zero results · MusicBrainz rights-registry query for Chokehold, queried directly, returning zero results · UK Companies House public search for Rhythm Vault, queried directly, returning no matching company · Virgin Music Group's own newsroom, 1 September 2023, "Virgin Music Group Establishes Nigerian Office" — names Dvpper, Dapper Music's distribution arm, among the first partnerships in the region, without specifying the type of partnership or naming T.I Blaze; this replaces a citation to www.virginmusicgroup.com, a domain that does not resolve (the correct domain is virginmusic.com, no "group")
Read this before citing: This record establishes what T.I Blaze's own catalogue credits show, not what his private contracts say. It does not confirm or deny his allegation that Dapper Music failed to account for roughly ₦1.2 billion in revenue, which remains a live, contested dispute with no public documents. It specifically does not confirm that Virgin Music Group has any direct role in his masters: no source checked, including every Apple Music credit from October 2022 to November 2025, names Virgin Music Group anywhere in his phonogram credits. Virgin Music Group's own 2023 newsroom names a partnership with Dvpper, Dapper Music's distribution arm, which may be the source of the conflation; Virgin's press release does not specify the nature of that partnership or name T.I Blaze individually. It also does not establish who owns or controls Rhythm Vault, the imprint credited on his newest single, or whether T.I Blaze holds any stake in it beyond being its credited artist. Rhythm Vault could not be found on the UK Companies House register, and Nigeria's CAC register has no public search tool, so its incorporation and ownership could not be independently verified through either register.
Standards note, 7 September 2026: one supporting citation, the Virgin Music Group newsroom item on the Dvpper partnership, was linked at www.virginmusicgroup.com, a domain that does not resolve. It has been swapped for the correct live URL at virginmusic.com (no 'group'), which carries the same 1 September 2023 announcement. The claim this citation supports is unchanged.
When T.I Blaze told his followers on 14 August 2026 that Dapper Music had failed to account for roughly ₦1.2 billion in revenue, he asked a pointed question in the same breath: “How did Virgin Music get into a business where you’re supposed to take 30 percent and bounce?” It is a fair question to put to a label. It is also, on the evidence of his own music, a claim that does not match where his catalogue’s phonogram credit has actually sat, then or since.
This record checks a narrower thing than the royalty dispute consuming Nigerian music X since mid-August: not who owes T.I Blaze money, but who his own releases say has been releasing his music, and whether that changed after he went public.
What the credits show, release by release
T.I Blaze signed to Dapper Music & Entertainment, the label arm of Damilola “Dapper” Akinwunmi’s Dapper Group, in the early 2020s. His phonogram credits, verified live on Apple Music, are consistent across four years and five separate releases:
- El Major, his debut album (13 October 2022): “℗ 2022 Dvpper Music”
- Shakur, his sophomore album (26 November 2024): “℗ 2024 Dapper Music & Ent, Under exclusive license to Dvpper Digital Ltd”
- Shakur (Deluxe) (4 April 2025): “℗ 2025 Dapper Music & Ent, Under exclusive license to Dvpper Digital Ltd”
- El-Chapo, his four-track EP (28 November 2025): “℗ 2025 Dapper Music & Ent, Under exclusive license to Dvpper Digital Ltd”
That is the credit on his most recent project release, dated three and a half months before he went public with allegations against the same company. Nowhere in that four-year trail, from El Major through El-Chapo, does Virgin Music Group’s name appear.
This publication also queried MusicBrainz’s rights registry for these releases, following the same method used to cross-check a separate Dapper-era catalogue dispute involving Shallipopi. The query returned no results for El Major, Shakur or Chokehold (see below): MusicBrainz’s coverage of current Nigerian street-pop releases is thin, and that absence could not be used to confirm or contradict the DSP credit either way.
Where the Virgin Music claim likely comes from
Virgin Music Group is a real, active company in Nigeria. It opened a Lagos office in September 2023, under executive Olukorede “Kay” Ikazoboh, and named its first Nigerian partnerships in the same announcement on its own newsroom: “Among the first deals announced in the region by Virgin include partnerships with Dvpper, one of Nigeria’s hottest Afrobeats labels.” Virgin’s press release does not specify whether that partnership is a distribution deal, a marketing-services agreement or something else, and does not name T.I Blaze, Dapper Music & Entertainment or any other Dapper-affiliated company individually.
That is very likely the actual thread T.I Blaze is describing: not a direct deal between Virgin and T.I Blaze, but a services relationship, of undisclosed type, between Virgin and Dvpper, the company distributing his music. A distributor’s distributor is still, functionally, several steps removed from an artist’s own recording contract, and nothing in the public record puts Virgin’s name directly on T.I Blaze’s masters.
The break: a new credit, two weeks after he went public
On 28 August 2026, exactly two weeks after his allegations began circulating, T.I Blaze released a new single, “Chokehold,” credited jointly to an imprint called Rhythm Vault and T.I Blaze. Audiomack’s phonogram line for the track, verified live, reads: “℗ 2026 Rhythm Vault.” T.I Blaze’s own Audiomack artist profile lists his label field as “RHYTHMVAULT LTD.” Neither Dapper Music & Entertainment nor Dvpper Digital appears on this credit, the first confirmed break in the pattern since his 2022 debut.
That is a real, checkable change, and it is worth being precise about what it does and does not establish. It confirms that as of his most recent release, T.I Blaze’s music is being presented under a different company name than at any point in the previous four years. It does not confirm that Rhythm Vault owns his back catalogue, that his Dapper Music contract has formally ended, or that the ₦1.2 billion dispute has been resolved. Rhythm Vault had one earlier confirmed credit, as a featured act alongside T.I Blaze on Boi Roya’s single “Whyne Am” in May 2026, three months before the public dispute, which means it was not created purely as a reaction to the fallout. What it is, who owns it, and whether T.I Blaze holds any equity in it beyond being its credited artist could not be established: it does not appear on the UK’s Companies House register, and Nigeria’s CAC has no public search tool, so a Nigerian incorporation could not be checked either.
The single’s promotional smart-link, run through the marketing platform Feature.fm, lists Africori, the Warner Music-owned African distribution and marketing company, as the data controller for the release’s fan-facing tools. That is a marketing-technology credit, not a rights credit, and it does not appear on the phonogram line itself; it is noted here because it is the one part of this release chain that ties to a major-label-owned entity, and because it does not resolve the ownership question either way.
What Dapper Music has said
Damilola Akinwunmi responded to the artists publicly on 16 August 2026 and then in a fuller statement three days later, on 19 August. His central claims: “I have not sold anyone’s catalogue. Not to a distributor, not to a third party, not to anyone,” and “Ownership sits exactly where the agreements say it sits, and those agreements are among the documents I am asking to be examined.” He challenged T.I Blaze, Seyi Vibez and Shallipopi to submit the company’s accounts and contracts to an independent forensic auditor of their choosing, naming KPMG, PwC, Deloitte and several Nigerian law firms as acceptable options, and argued that recoupable advances, not withheld royalties, explain the balances in dispute. He did not address the Virgin Music question directly, and no source checked, including his own statement, confirms or denies a Virgin Music agreement covering T.I Blaze specifically.
What this means for artists
A phonogram credit is not a contract. It is a distributor-facing label telling a DSP who should be paid for a release, and a company can put a name on that line that a private agreement does not fully support, or leave one off that a side letter does support. But it is also the one part of a dispute like this that updates in near real time and that anyone outside the negotiation can check, which makes it more useful than either side’s public statements, on their own, for establishing what is actually happening to a catalogue in the open.
Read against that standard, T.I Blaze’s own trail shows a label relationship that did not visibly change for four years, including through a project released three and a half months before he went public, and a new credit that appeared only after the dispute did. Both of those facts can be true at once: a catalogue can sit unmoved for years and an artist can still have a legitimate, unresolved grievance about the accounting behind it. The credit line settles the first question. It says nothing about the second, and this record does not attempt to.
For artists watching this dispute play out, the detail worth learning to read is not who is shouting loudest online. It is which company’s name is on the ℗ line of the next release, and whether that name changes before or after the public complaint starts.
Read next: Afrobeats Wire’s earlier reporting on Dapper Music’s response to the wider dispute, and the parallel credit-line check on Shallipopi’s own catalogue movement out of Dapper Music.
