Skip to content

Music news, business and culture.

Join Newsletter

Niniola Signed With Kobalt for Publishing in 2017. Her Masters Have Answered to One Label the Whole Time, and Its Co-Owner Just Died

Deal sheet

Status
Niniola Apata signed a publishing deal with Kobalt Music Group, announced 13 August 2017. The deal covers her rights as a songwriter: Kobalt administers her compositions and collects royalties on her behalf, it does not own her copyrights outright and it is not a masters deal. No fee, advance, royalty split or term was disclosed by either side, then or since. Kobalt's Nigeria-facing Instagram account posted a welcome message naming her as a signing; her management confirmed the signing to Vanguard the same week. Neither statement included a number.

Her recording rights sit somewhere else entirely. Every phonogram credit on her catalogue, checked directly on Apple Music and Deezer from her 2014 debut single "Ibadi" through her 2026 single "Without You", names Drumroll Records, not Kobalt. That is consistent with the deal being publishing only: a label or self-released artist can hold masters while a separate company administers the songs.

Drumroll Records is not, on the evidence available, a company Niniola owns alone. In a City People interview published 5 January 2019, she stated in her own words: "I co-own my record label (Drumroll Records) with my manager Michael Ndika who also owns the company that manages me Naija Review Limited." That is the only public statement of the ownership structure this record can find, and it is now seven years old with no update, correction or restatement located since.

Michael Ndika died on 19 May 2026, aged 44. Four separate reports from that week, from outlets independent of each other, confirm his death and that he was Niniola's manager; the reporting also disclosed for the first time that he had been her husband for thirteen years. None of the four names Drumroll Records or says anything about what happens to a deceased co-owner's stake in a Nigerian company. That question is unresolved and this record does not resolve it.

A distribution credit distinct from both the label and the publisher also appears on part of the catalogue: "Distributed by Continued Entertainment" on the 2023 single "Komiyo", and "CICADA MUSIC/DRUMROLL RECORDS. Distributed by Continued Entertainment" on the 2025 single "Electrical". Neither Apple nor Deezer shows that credit on the rest of the catalogue, so this record treats it as confirmed for those two releases and not established as an exclusive, catalogue-wide arrangement.

Company registration for Drumroll Records and Naija Review Limited was checked and could not be established. Nigeria's Corporate Affairs Commission has no public search API. A UK Companies House name search for each company on 16 September 2026 returned no exact match. Ownership here rests on the artist's own 2019 statement, not on a filed corporate record.

Type
Publishing
Parties
Kobalt Music Group, Drumroll Records, Naija Review Limited, Continued Entertainment
Amount
Not disclosed
Rights covered
Publishing/administration rights in Niniola's compositions (Kobalt). Distinct from and does not cover the sound recording (master) rights in her catalogue, which the phonogram credit continuously assigns to Drumroll Records, a company she has stated she co-owns with her late manager Michael Ndika. Distribution of at least two singles is separately credited to Continued Entertainment. No mechanical, sync, neighbouring-rights or reversion terms were disclosed for the Kobalt deal.
Territory
Not specified in the announcement. Kobalt Music Group operates as a global publishing administrator with a Nigeria-facing presence at the time of signing; no territory restriction or carve-out was stated by either party. Drumroll Records' phonogram credit is visible on Apple Music and Deezer storefronts including the US catalogue view used for this record; no separate territorial licensing structure for the masters has been disclosed.
Announced
2017-08-13
Primary document
Trade press
Sources
Vanguard, published 13 August 2017, verified HTTP 200 on 16 September 2026, quoting a statement from Niniola's management on the Kobalt Music Group publishing signing. · Rolling Stone feature, read 16 September 2026, HTTP 200, quoting Dominique Keegan, vice president of creative at Kobalt, on record as saying he signed Niniola to the publishing deal "the same year" as her 2017 breakout, a direct statement from a named Kobalt executive rather than a management press release. · City People Magazine, published 5 January 2019, verified HTTP 200 on 16 September 2026, carrying Niniola's own words: "I co-own my record label (Drumroll Records) with my manager Michael Ndika who also owns the company that manages me Naija Review Limited." This is the only located public statement of the ownership structure and it is the entire basis for treating Drumroll Records as co-owned rather than solely hers. · Vanguard, published 20 May 2026, verified HTTP 200 on 16 September 2026, the first announcement of Michael Ndika's death, naming him Chief Executive Officer of NaijaReview and disclosing the previously private 13-year marriage. Does not mention Drumroll Records. · Pulse Nigeria, published 20 May 2026, verified HTTP 200 on 16 September 2026, independently confirming the death and the NaijaReview CEO title, and additionally reporting that Niniola is the older sister of singer Teni. Does not mention Drumroll Records. · THISDAY, published 23 May 2026, verified HTTP 200 on 16 September 2026, citing a friend of Ndika's on the cause of death, a stroke following high blood pressure, after he returned from the United States on 1 May 2026 and was admitted to the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, where he died on 19 May 2026. Does not mention Drumroll Records. · Apple catalogue lookup for Niniola (Apple artist ID 862633800), United States storefront, read 16 September 2026, returning 83 rows. Every release credited to "Niniola" alone as lead artist, from "Ibadi" (12 April 2014) to "Without You" (21 August 2026), carries a Drumroll Records phonogram line, with the sole distribution-credit variants "Drumroll Records. Distributed by Continued Entertainment" on "Komiyo" (6 October 2023) and "CICADA MUSIC/DRUMROLL RECORDS. Distributed by Continued Entertainment" on "Electrical" (11 February 2025). Guest-feature releases where Niniola is not the lead or co-lead artist carry the issuing party's own imprint and are excluded from this trail. · Deezer artist album index for Niniola, read 16 September 2026, returning 55 entries and supplying the album IDs cross-checked below. · Deezer album endpoint, read 16 September 2026, returning label "Drumroll Records" for "Ibadi", release date 2014-04-12, matching the Apple reading for her debut single. · Deezer album endpoint, read 16 September 2026, returning label "Drumroll Records" for "This Is Me", release date 2017-10-30. · Deezer album endpoint, read 16 September 2026, returning label "Drumroll Records" for one listing of "Komiyo", release date 2023-10-06. · Deezer album endpoint, read 16 September 2026, returning label "Drumroll Records" for a second listing of "Komiyo", release date 2023-10-06, matching Apple's plain Drumroll Records credit for this single rather than the distribution-credit variant. · Deezer album endpoint, read 16 September 2026, returning label "CICADA MUSIC/DRUMROLL RECORDS" for "Electrical", release date 2025-02-11, matching the Apple distribution credit though without repeating "Distributed by Continued Entertainment" in this field. · Deezer album endpoint, read 16 September 2026, returning label "Drumroll Records" for "Without You", release date 2026-08-21, the most recent release in the catalogue at the time of reading. · Deezer album endpoint, read 16 September 2026, returning label "Dreamreal Management" for "Loud", release date 2022-11-11. Checked and excluded: the credited artist is Ugocciè, not Niniola, so this is a guest appearance and the label reflects the issuing artist's arrangement, not Niniola's. · UK Companies House name search, read 16 September 2026, returning no exact match for "Drumroll Records"; only unrelated companies with partial word matches. · UK Companies House name search, read 16 September 2026, returning no exact match for "Naija Review Limited" or any close variant.

Read this before citing: THIS IS NOT A RECORD OF DISCLOSED CONTRACT TERMS. No fee, advance, royalty split, term length or option structure for the Kobalt publishing deal appears in any source located. "Not disclosed" is the accurate entry, not a placeholder for a figure this desk could not find.

PUBLISHING AND MASTERS ARE TWO DIFFERENT THINGS. Kobalt administers Niniola's songs as a publisher; it has never appeared on a single phonogram credit in her catalogue. Drumroll Records holds the master rights, evidenced by the ℗ line, and that is a separate and unrelated form of ownership. Neither party's role tells you anything about the other's.

THE OWNERSHIP STRUCTURE RESTS ON ONE STATEMENT. Everything this record says about Drumroll Records being co-owned by Niniola and Michael Ndika, and about Naija Review Limited being Ndika's company, comes from a single quote Niniola gave to City People in January 2019. No corporate filing confirms it. No later restatement, correction or update has been found. Treat the ownership share, and whether it still holds seven years on, as resting entirely on that one interview.

MICHAEL NDIKA'S DEATH DOES NOT RESOLVE ANYTHING. He died on 19 May 2026. Every report of his death that this desk could read confirms he was Niniola's manager and, newly revealed, her husband of thirteen years. None of them names Drumroll Records, states what happens to a deceased co-owner's stake in a Nigerian company, or says whether Niniola now owns the label outright, has bought out the estate, or the position is simply unaddressed in public. This record does not know, and says so rather than guessing.

REGISTRATION STATUS IS NOT ESTABLISHED FOR EITHER COMPANY. Nigeria's Corporate Affairs Commission has no public search API. A UK Companies House name search for "Drumroll Records" and for "Naija Review" on 16 September 2026 returned no exact match for either. Whether these are formally incorporated Nigerian companies, and under what legal names, is not established by this record.

CONTINUED ENTERTAINMENT'S ROLE IS NARROW. It appears as named distributor on two releases only, "Komiyo" (2023) and "Electrical" (2025), out of dozens of Drumroll Records releases checked. Nothing found establishes it as Niniola's or Drumroll's exclusive or ongoing distributor, only that it is named on those two records.

A CONTRADICTION IN THE 2017 COVERAGE. Vanguard's announcement describes Kobalt as a "US music services company." Other trade coverage of the same period describes Kobalt as UK-based. Kobalt in fact operates from multiple global offices and was founded in Sweden-linked ownership before building out US and UK operations; neither single-country label is precise, and this record does not adopt either.

A PHONOGRAM LINE IS NOT A CONTRACT. It records who claims copyright in the recording as delivered to a service. It does not establish how or when that right was assigned, whether Niniola herself holds any equity in Drumroll Records as a company as opposed to Drumroll Records holding the masters, or what any distribution or licensing terms behind the credit are.

EXCLUSIONS. Guest appearances on other artists' releases are excluded from Niniola's ownership trail because the phonogram credit on those records reflects the issuing artist's or label's claim, not Niniola's: for example "Loud" by Ugocciè (2022), credited to Dreamreal Management, is excluded on this basis.

KOBALT'S OWN NEWSROOM COULD NOT BE CHECKED. kobaltmusic.com returned an HTTP 403 Cloudflare block on every attempt made for this record on 16 September 2026. No Kobalt first-party press release could be read to confirm or add to the 2017 signing beyond what Vanguard, Rolling Stone and Kobalt's own Instagram post (quoted second-hand in Vanguard's report) already establish.

In August 2017 Kobalt Music Group signed the Nigerian singer Niniola Apata to a publishing deal. According to a statement from her management at the time, “Kobalt made an offer to sign the Nigerian queen of Afro-house. Terms were met and a deal was done.” The arrangement also engaged her as a songwriter, writing material for other artists on Kobalt’s roster. Kobalt’s own Instagram account welcomed her the same week. Neither side disclosed a fee, an advance, a royalty split or a term.

A publishing deal covers the compositions, the underlying songs, not the recordings. Kobalt administers rights and collects royalties for songwriters; it does not take ownership of the copyright in the way a label can take ownership of a master. That distinction matters here because Niniola’s recording rights sit somewhere else entirely, and the record of where they sit is unusually long and unusually undisturbed.

What the phonogram credit shows, release by release

Every commercial release credited to Niniola as lead or co-lead artist, checked against Apple’s catalogue lookup and Deezer’s album metadata on 16 September 2026, carries a Drumroll Records phonogram line, from her debut single “Ibadi” on 12 April 2014 to her most recent single “Without You” on 21 August 2026. That is twelve years and roughly forty own-name releases without the credit moving.

Release Date Apple phonogram line Deezer label field
Ibadi (Single), debut 12 April 2014 ℗ 2014 Drumroll Records Drumroll Records
This Is Me 30 October 2017 ℗ 2024 Drumroll Records Drumroll Records
Maradona (Single) 21 February 2017 ℗ 2017 Drumroll Records no separate Deezer album entry checked
Komiyo (Single) 6 October 2023 ℗ 2023 Drumroll Records. Distributed by Continued Entertainment Drumroll Records (also listed once without the distribution line)
Electrical (Single, feat. Praiz) 11 February 2025 ℗ 2025 CICADA MUSIC/DRUMROLL RECORDS. Distributed by Continued Entertainment CICADA MUSIC/DRUMROLL RECORDS
Belle (Single) 17 October 2025 ℗ 2025 Drumroll Records not separately checked
Without You, most recent release 21 August 2026 ℗ 2026 Drumroll Records Drumroll Records

Apple’s lookup for artist 862633800 returned 83 rows covering the catalogue from 2014 to 2026. Deezer’s artist index for artist 5813566 returned 55 rows. The two services agree on every own-name release checked. Guest appearances on other artists’ records, and features where Niniola is not the lead or co-lead artist, carry the issuing party’s own imprint instead: Bella Alubo’s “Location”, Afro B’s “Shisha”, Ugocciè’s “Loud”, among others. Those are excluded from this trail because the credit on a guest appearance records the issuing party’s claim, not Niniola’s.

Who owns Drumroll Records

Drumroll Records has never publicly filed, as far as this desk could establish, a statement of its own ownership. The only account of the structure that could be found is Niniola’s own, given to City People magazine on 5 January 2019: “I co-own my record label (Drumroll Records) with my manager Michael Ndika who also owns the company that manages me Naija Review Limited.” That is a direct statement from the artist herself about her own company, which is why this record treats it as reliable as far as it goes. It is also seven years old, and no restatement, correction or update has been located since.

Michael Ndika was, by every account of him published since, central to building Niniola’s career. He became her manager in 2013, after she finished as a top contestant on the sixth season of Project Fame West Africa, and he was also the founder and Chief Executive Officer of NaijaReview, an entertainment and media platform focused on Afro-house and African music, which multiple reports name as the company Niniola’s 2019 interview called Naija Review Limited.

A death that leaves a company question open

Michael Ndika died on 19 May 2026, at age 44. Niniola announced it herself, in a series of raw Instagram story posts: “God took him.” “My husband died.” “God took him. 13 years. 13 f***ing years.” Those posts were the first public confirmation that the pair had been married for thirteen years, a fact Niniola had denied as recently as an interview months earlier. A friend of Ndika’s later told THISDAY that he died of complications from a stroke, after high blood pressure that had troubled him since he returned from a trip to the United States on 1 May 2026, and that he was admitted to the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital in Ikeja before he died.

Four separate reports of his death, independent of each other, were read for this record. None of them names Drumroll Records. None of them says what becomes of a deceased co-owner’s stake in a Nigerian company, whether Niniola now owns the label outright, whether an estate has any claim on it, or whether the position has simply gone unaddressed in public. This record does not know, and it does not guess. It notes that the only public account of Drumroll Records being anything other than Niniola’s alone rests on a statement by a man who has since died, and that nothing has updated it.

A narrower, separate distribution credit

Two releases, “Komiyo” in 2023 and “Electrical” in 2025, add a further line: “Distributed by Continued Entertainment.” That is a distribution credit, distinct again from both the label that owns the master and the publisher that administers the song. It appears on only these two records out of the dozens checked, so this record treats it as confirmed for those two releases and not established as an exclusive or catalogue-wide distribution arrangement.

What is not established

No party has stated the terms of the Kobalt publishing deal: no fee, no advance, no royalty rate, no term, no territory. “Not disclosed” is the accurate entry here, not a gap this desk failed to fill.

Whether Niniola holds equity in Drumroll Records as a company, as opposed to the company holding the masters to her recordings, is not established by anything located. A phonogram credit shows who claims the sound recording copyright. It does not show a shareholding structure.

Company registration for Drumroll Records and for Naija Review Limited is not established. Nigeria’s Corporate Affairs Commission has no public search interface. A UK Companies House name search for each company, run on 16 September 2026, returned no exact match for either.

Whether Continued Entertainment distributes Niniola’s whole catalogue or only the two releases that name it is not established.

Two sources that would likely bear on Continued Entertainment’s business and on the wider Nigerian entertainment-and-media reporting around Michael Ndika could not be read for this record. A Businessday Nigeria company profile returned a server error on three separate attempts on 16 September 2026. Guardian Nigeria and PM News both returned an access-denied response on the same day. No claim in this record rests on any of the three.

Kobalt’s own newsroom, at kobaltmusic.com, returned a Cloudflare access block on every attempt made on 16 September 2026, so no first-party Kobalt press release could be checked to confirm or extend what Vanguard, Rolling Stone and Kobalt’s own 2017 Instagram post already establish.

Share this story

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

Pick your tempo

Who owns what, who got paid, and who is about to. The business behind African music, told like it is actually interesting (because it is).

  • The deals and catalogue sales nobody put out a press release for
  • Chart moves and streaming numbers we actually fact-checked (wild, we know)
  • Fresh names added to the directory, vetted before you ever see them

Free forever Ghost us anytime, one click

Get the inside track from Afrobeats Wire

Choose your speed. We will handle the rest.

How fast do you want it?

Your inbox is sacred. This address is used for the newsletter and nothing else, never sold, never passed on. Privacy policy.