Skip to content

Music news, business and culture.

Join Newsletter

Kabza De Small’s Piano Hub Has Been Distributed by Sony Music Entertainment Africa Since 2019. Two Recent Releases Flip the Credit Line.

Deal sheet

Status
Active
Type
Distribution
Parties
Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd, Sony Music Entertainment
Amount
Not disclosed Not disclosed
Rights covered
Distribution, not ownership. Apple's own catalogue metadata credits Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd as phonographic (P) rightsholder on Kabza De Small's solo releases from the label's first EP, Piano Hub (1 October 2019), through Tutu (25 September 2026), naming Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd as exclusive distributor on the same line. No source states that Sony holds any equity, security interest or co-ownership stake in the masters. A joint credit, New Money Gang Records, carries the same Sony distribution formula for the Scorpion Kings series Kabza releases with DJ Maphorisa.
Territory
Worldwide. Every phonographic credit checked reads 'exclusively distributed under Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd' or the inverted 'under exclusive license from,' with no narrower territorial carve-out found in any source checked.
Announced
2019-10-01
Primary document
Rights registry
Sources
Apple's own catalogue metadata, read directly via the iTunes Search/Lookup API for artist ID 1021730955 (Kabza De Small), covering 134 releases from October 2019 through September 2026. The Piano Hub EP, released 1 October 2019, is the first release carrying the phonographic credit 'Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd, exclusively distributed under Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd,' a formula that has held on releases since, including Bab'Motha (18 July 2025) and Tutu (25 September 2026). · Music In Africa interview, 25 August 2022, with Sean Watson, Managing Director of Sony Music Entertainment Africa, naming Piano Hub among the ventures Sony 'forged' in South Africa. · TimesLive report, 17 September 2019, quoting DJ Maphorisa's tweet that 'Kabza is independent his label is Piano Hub,' the source for treating Piano Hub as Kabza De Small's own label rather than Maphorisa's.

Read this before citing: This record establishes what Apple's own catalogue metadata states: Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd holds the phonographic credit on Kabza De Small's solo recorded catalogue, and Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd distributes it exclusively worldwide, a formula in place since October 2019 and still current as of September 2026. Two releases invert the standard wording: Wishi Wishi (18 October 2024) and Kuyafana Mos (20 March 2026) are credited as 'Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd under exclusive license from Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd.' No source explains the inversion, and no other release before or after either of those two dates repeats it, so this record treats it as a labelling inconsistency rather than a change of ownership, since every surrounding release reverts to naming Piano Hub as rightsholder. This record does not establish deal terms. No amount, advance, royalty rate, term length or signing date was disclosed by Kabza De Small, Piano Hub, Sony Music Entertainment Africa, or Sony corporate in any source checked. Whether Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd is wholly owned by Kabza De Small personally, and who else if anyone holds shares, could not be established: South Africa's CIPC company registry has no public API available to this desk, and a third-party company-registry aggregator page returned HTTP 403 on request and was not used as a source. MusicBrainz carries a Piano Hub label entry with no relations, country, type or label code recorded, confirming rights-registry coverage of the label is thin outside DSP metadata. New Money Gang Records, the joint credit Kabza shares with DJ Maphorisa for the Scorpion Kings series, carries the same Sony Music Entertainment Africa distribution formula from its first release (5 July 2019) but is treated in this record as a separate credit line, not evidence that Piano Hub and New Money Gang Records are the same legal entity.

Standards note, 7 September 2026: one supporting citation no longer resolves and has no archived capture: the TimesLive report (17 September 2019) carrying DJ Maphorisa's quote, 'Kabza is independent his label is Piano Hub,' which is this record's sole source for treating Piano Hub as Kabza De Small's own label rather than Maphorisa's. A reader can no longer independently verify that document. The claim itself is unchanged and continues to rest on this desk's original capture of the quote.

Piano Hub is routinely described as Kabza De Small’s record label, and Apple’s own catalogue metadata backs that up in more detail than most coverage bothers to check. Every solo release since the label’s first EP in October 2019, read directly through Apple’s own catalogue lookup service, carries the phonographic credit “Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd, exclusively distributed under Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd.” That formula has held for seven years, through 134 releases, and is still current on a single dated 25 September 2026. Sony distributes. Piano Hub, on this record, is the rightsholder.

Whose label it actually is

Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa are the two producers most responsible for turning amapiano into a commercial genre, and their catalogues are so intertwined, through the Scorpion Kings series and constant guest credits, that fans have periodically assumed one runs the other’s business. Maphorisa shut that down directly. On 17 September 2019, after a social media user accused him of exploiting Kabza, Maphorisa tweeted a reply later reported by TimesLive: “Listen Kabza is independent his label is Piano Hub u just assume u guys a boring.” Maphorisa’s own label is a separate company, Blaq Boy Music Corporation. The two men collaborate constantly and run separate businesses, and Piano Hub’s copyright credits are consistent with an imprint belonging to Kabza, not to Maphorisa or to any joint entity.

What the catalogue actually shows, release by release

The Piano Hub EP, released 1 October 2019, is the first release in Apple’s catalogue carrying the credit “Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd, exclusively distributed under Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd.” The same formula, with only minor punctuation variation, covers Asibe Happy (12 November 2021), Isimo (27 October 2023), Bab’Motha (18 July 2025) and Tutu, dated 25 September 2026, the most current release checked for this record. Across 134 results returned by Apple’s own lookup service for Kabza’s artist profile, the Piano Hub/Sony distribution formula is the dominant credit line on his solo output for the label’s entire operating history.

Two releases break from that formula in a way worth flagging rather than smoothing over. Wishi Wishi, dated 18 October 2024, and Kuyafana Mos, dated 20 March 2026, invert the wording to read “Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd under exclusive license from Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd.” That construction names Sony first and describes Piano Hub’s role as licensor rather than naming Piano Hub as the primary rightsholder with Sony distributing. No release before or after either date repeats the inverted wording, and no source explains why those two releases are phrased differently. This record treats it as a labelling inconsistency in Apple’s ingested metadata rather than evidence that ownership actually changed hands twice and reverted twice, because nothing else in the catalogue, in trade coverage, or in any statement by either party supports a change of that kind.

A separate joint credit sits alongside Piano Hub rather than inside it. Kabza’s collaborative work with Maphorisa, principally the Scorpion Kings series, carries a New Money Gang Records credit, distributed on the same exclusive terms by Sony Music Entertainment Africa since its first release on 5 July 2019. One release, “Rumble in the Jungle” (dated 2020 in Apple’s metadata, surfaced 9 April 2021), carries a three-way credit: “New Money Gang, Piano Hub & Jacquel Entertainment Group,” naming a third company linked to Maphorisa’s side of the operation. Piano Hub and New Money Gang Records are named separately throughout the catalogue checked for this record, and nothing found states they are the same legal entity.

Sony’s side of it

Sony Music Entertainment Africa’s own leadership has spoken about the relationship in terms that match what the catalogue shows. In a Music In Africa interview published 25 August 2022, Sean Watson, the company’s managing director, described the label’s approach to the South African market directly: “In South Africa we’re forging new ventures, such as with New Money Gang, Black is Brown Entertainment and Piano Hub.” Watson’s own phrasing, “forging new ventures,” is consistent with a distribution and label-services relationship rather than a claim of ownership, and no statement from Sony, in that interview or elsewhere, asserts that Sony owns or co-owns Piano Hub or its masters.

One further catalogue entry names a third structure. Once Upon a Time in Lockdown, dated 17 April 2020, carries a credit reading “Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd, under Sound African Recording, a division of Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd,” with no Piano Hub credit at all. That release sits outside the Piano Hub catalogue pattern entirely and appears to be a separate Sony-branded compilation rather than a Piano Hub release; it is noted here because it shows Sony operates more than one credit line in the South African amapiano market, not only the one attached to Kabza’s imprint.

What could not be established

South Africa’s Companies and Intellectual Property Commission has no public search API available to this desk, and the one third-party company-registry listing found for a name matching Piano Hub returned an HTTP 403 error on request. It was not used as a source, consistent with this desk’s rule that a document must actually be fetched and read before a claim built on it can run. As a result, this record does not state who legally holds shares in Piano Hub (Pty) Ltd, when it was incorporated, or whether Kabza De Small is its sole shareholder as opposed to a majority or partial one. It also does not state any term of the Sony distribution arrangement: no advance, royalty split, contract length or exclusivity clause was disclosed by Kabza De Small, Piano Hub, Sony Music Entertainment Africa or Sony corporate in any source checked. MusicBrainz, the open rights registry this desk checks for independent corroboration, carries a Piano Hub label entry that is an empty stub, with no country, type, label code or catalogue relations recorded, meaning registry coverage outside DSP metadata is effectively nonexistent for this label.

What this means for artists

Piano Hub is a useful example precisely because it is not a murky one. Unlike arrangements where the copyright line is the only public document stating the legal shape of a relationship, Kabza’s ownership of Piano Hub is corroborated twice over: by the party who might have had reason to claim otherwise, DJ Maphorisa, denying it publicly, and by Sony’s own Africa MD describing the label as one of the “ventures” the company works with rather than one it runs. The catalogue credit, the artist-side denial of joint ownership, and the distributor’s own language all point the same direction.

What it also shows is how easily a distribution formula can drift in the metadata layer without anyone announcing a change. Two releases, out of 134 checked, quietly swapped which party’s name comes first and which role each is described as playing, with no accompanying statement from either side. Neither release suggests Kabza actually lost or regained ownership of his own catalogue twice in eighteen months. It suggests that the copyright line, treated by most coverage as a fixed fact, is itself only as reliable as whoever typed it into a distribution system that day. An artist relying on a distributor’s metadata as proof of what they own should ask for the underlying contract, not just check what Apple displays.

Limits of this record. Catalogue credits were read directly from Apple’s own catalogue metadata via the iTunes Search and Lookup API for artist ID 1021730955 (Kabza De Small), an official first-party source, covering 134 releases from October 2019 to September 2026. DJ Maphorisa’s statement distinguishing his own label from Piano Hub was reported by TimesLive on 17 September 2019. Sean Watson’s description of Piano Hub as a Sony “venture” comes from a Music In Africa interview published 25 August 2022. MusicBrainz was checked directly for independent registry corroboration and returned an unrelated, unpopulated stub entry for Piano Hub. South Africa’s CIPC company registry has no public API available to this desk; a third-party registry aggregator page for a matching company name returned HTTP 403 on request and was not used as a source. No amount, advance, royalty rate, contract term or incorporation detail was disclosed by any party in any source checked. The inverted credit wording on Wishi Wishi (October 2024) and Kuyafana Mos (March 2026) is reported as an unexplained inconsistency in the metadata, not as confirmed evidence of a change in ownership.

Share this story

Written by

Yewande Coker

Yewande Coker is Afrobeats Wire's business editor. She covers the money side of African music: catalogue acquisitions, distribution and publishing deal structures, label finances, and the ownership chains behind the continent's biggest rights.

More from this desk →

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

Pick your tempo

Who owns what, who got paid, and who is about to. The business behind African music, told like it is actually interesting (because it is).

  • The deals and catalogue sales nobody put out a press release for
  • Chart moves and streaming numbers we actually fact-checked (wild, we know)
  • Fresh names added to the directory, vetted before you ever see them

Free forever Ghost us anytime, one click

Get the inside track from Afrobeats Wire

Choose your speed. We will handle the rest.

How fast do you want it?

Your inbox is sacred. This address is used for the newsletter and nothing else, never sold, never passed on. Privacy policy.