Deal sheet
- Status
- Subsisting and confirmed by both sides of the structure, but undated and unpriced. The licence itself has never been published. Its commencement date, its term, its expiry, its territory grant on the face of the contract and its consideration are all undisclosed. Femi Kuti confirmed in April 2026 that a licence is in force and that the Estate expects to recover the rights at the end of it, saying "I don't know how many more years we have right now", which establishes that a fixed term exists and that the Estate itself has not stated its length.
- Type
- Licensing
- Parties
- Estate of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Kalakuta Sunrise Limited
- Amount
- Not disclosed
- Rights covered
- MASTER RECORDINGS. What is licensed is the recorded-music copyright in the Fela Anikulapo-Kuti catalogue. The phonogram credit "Estate of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti under exclusive license to Kalakuta Sunrise Ltd" is a statement about sound recordings only. It is not a statement about the compositions.
OWNERSHIP IS RETAINED. The construction "under exclusive license to" is the industry formulation for a licence, and it is materially different from an assignment. An exclusive licence transfers the right to exploit for a term; it does not transfer title. The owner named on the line is the Estate. Femi Kuti's statement, "we never sold it… but we licensed the music", is consistent with the credit line rather than in tension with it. Two independent sources, one a rights credit and one a direct statement by a principal, describe the same structure.
REVERSION IS EXPECTED. Femi Kuti: "when the years are done, we'll take it over and license it again." That describes a term licence with reversion to the Estate, not a perpetual grant.
WHAT IS NOT COVERED BY THIS RECORD. Publishing is a separate chain and is not part of this transaction. Neither is name, image and likeness, which the Estate placed with WME Legends for worldwide management in October 2023. Neither is physical or digital distribution, which is a further layer below the licence.
SCOPE MEASURED. 90 album-level releases are returned for artist 55088. 81 carry the Kalakuta Sunrise licence line. The 9 that do not are, on inspection, new recordings rather than catalogue: a Quannum Projects release (2004), a Mavin Global Holdings remix (2021), an Ezra Collective re-recording on Partisan Records (2023), an Armada Music remix (2022), two ABRACADABRA remixes (2019), a Defected Records release licensed from MoBlack Records (2020), a further remix single (2021), and the Fela! Original Broadway Cast Recording, whose line reads "Cast Recording LLC" (2011). None of those contradicts the catalogue position; each is a separately owned master.
- Territory
- WORLDWIDE, ON THE EVIDENCE OF THE CREDIT, NOT ON THE EVIDENCE OF THE CONTRACT. The licence document is not public and its territory clause has not been read. What has been established is that the same licensee is named on the same catalogue in every storefront checked: United States, United Kingdom, Nigeria, South Africa, France, Germany, Japan and Brazil. In each of the eight, 81 of 90 albums carry the identical line. A territorially limited licence would ordinarily produce a different licensee, or no availability, in at least one of those markets. It did not.
This is worth stating precisely because a worldwide grant is not the norm for African catalogues. Comparable records in this database show licences that carve Africa out or reserve it to the artist's own company. Nothing of that kind is visible here: the Nigerian storefront credit is identical to the American one.
- Announced
- 2026-04-18
- Primary document
- Rights registry
- Sources
- Phonogram (P-line) credit delivered by the rights holder to Apple, returned by the iTunes Search API for artist 55088 (Fela Kuti), album entity, US storefront, retrieved 4 September 2026. · Companies House registered profile for Kalakuta Sunrise Limited, company number 07423466: incorporation 29 October 2010, registered office, SIC 59200, active status, accounts and confirmation statement dates. · Companies House PSC register: Mr Stephen Hendel, notified 6 April 2016, more than 75% of shares and voting rights, right to appoint and remove directors. · Companies House officers list: Margolis, Putnam and Stein, with appointment dates and correspondence addresses. · Companies House charges register: fixed and floating charge with negative pledge in favour of Coutts & Company, created 10 May 2024, satisfied 12 June 2026. · Companies House filing history, including the audited accounts to 31 December 2024 filed 23 December 2025 from which the iXBRL figures were read. · Femi Kuti, quoted directly: the catalogue was never sold, it sits with the Estate, it is licensed, and the Estate expects to take it back and license it again. · MusicBrainz label Kalakuta Sunrise, country GB, life span beginning 2010, credited on ten Fela-related releases. · The same phonogram credit on the Nigerian storefront, used to test whether the licence carves out Africa. It does not. · Official Fela Kuti site: states that since 2008 the Kuti family has partnered with Knitting Factory Entertainment and Partisan Records to reissue the catalogue. · WME Legends signed the Estate for worldwide management in October 2023, covering name, image, likeness, life, IP, music and publishing rights, in partnership with the Estate's administrators. · BMG newsroom: BMG and Concord completed their combination on 1 September 2026, announced 28 April 2026. · Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee page for Fela Kuti, 2026.
Read this before citing: ESTABLISHED. That the Estate of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti owns the master recordings and that Kalakuta Sunrise Limited holds them under exclusive licence. Established from the phonogram credit across eight storefronts and corroborated by a direct quoted statement from Femi Kuti. That Kalakuta Sunrise Limited is a real, active English company, number 07423466, incorporated 29 October 2010, and that one person, Mr Stephen Hendel, controls more than 75 per cent of its shares and votes and can appoint and remove its directors. Established from the Companies House public register.
NOT DISCLOSED. The consideration. No royalty rate, advance, minimum guarantee or lump sum appears in any source located. The commencement date of the licence. Its term. Its expiry. No figure is asserted anywhere in this record, and none should be inferred from the licensee's filed accounts.
DATE USED. The announced date recorded here, 18 April 2026, is the date on which the licensing structure was publicly confirmed by a named principal. It is NOT the date of the licence, which is not disclosed. The earliest hard date associated with the licensee is its incorporation on 29 October 2010; MusicBrainz independently gives the label Kalakuta Sunrise a GB life span beginning 2010. Neither is treated here as the date of the grant.
LICENSOR NAMED TWO WAYS. A genuine inconsistency in the delivered metadata is recorded rather than smoothed over. Three releases, all single-track "(Edit)" EPs, read "FAK Ltd under exclusive license to Kalakuta Sunrise" instead of naming the Estate: Lady (Edit), No Agreement (Edit) and Stalemate (Edit). The variation is stable across the US, UK and Nigerian storefronts, so it is not a storefront artefact. Whether FAK Ltd is an entity of the Estate, a predecessor rights holder or a metadata error could not be established. A Companies House search returns a FAK LTD, number 09688997, incorporated 16 July 2015 at an address in Bournemouth, and there is NO evidence connecting that company to this catalogue. It should not be assumed to be the same entity.
REGISTRY DIVERGENCE. MusicBrainz and Apple describe different roles and neither names the other. MusicBrainz attributes Fela releases to Knitting Factory Records, and historically to Barclay, Celluloid, MCA Records, Stern's Music, Wrasse Records and Victor. Apple's phonogram line names Kalakuta Sunrise Ltd. These are not in conflict: a label credit records who released a record, a phonogram line records who owns or exclusively controls the recording. MusicBrainz separately carries a GB label called Kalakuta Sunrise, credited on ten Fela-related releases including the Fela! Original Broadway Cast Recording.
DISTRIBUTION IS A SEPARATE LAYER AND IS NOT ESTABLISHED HERE. The official felakuti.com site states that since 2008 the Kuti family has partnered with Knitting Factory Entertainment and Partisan Records to reissue the catalogue, and routes synchronisation enquiries to a Partisan Records address. The correspondence address on the register for two of Kalakuta Sunrise's three directors, Morgan H Margolis and Timothy Lewis Putnam, is in Brooklyn, New York. This record does not assert a corporate relationship between those companies and the licensee, because none is evidenced in any document read.
PUBLISHING IS A DIFFERENT CHAIN AND IS NOT PART OF THIS DEAL. A trade report dated 22 February 2013 states that BMG Rights Management France acquired the publishing business FKO Music, including all songs by Fela Kuti, together with Femi Kuti, Rachid Taha, Les Tetes Raides and an interest in Yaba Music. Consideration was not disclosed. Whether BMG holds that publishing today could NOT be established: every performing-rights registry attempted was unreachable. ASCAP returned 403 Forbidden, BMI redirected to a not-found page, the PRS work search returned 404 and the SACEM repertoire endpoint returned a 301 that did not resolve to a searchable record. Separately, BMG's own newsroom records that BMG and Concord completed a combination on 1 September 2026, announced 28 April 2026, operating under the BMG name. No document read connects that combination to the Fela publishing.
IDENTITY NOT ESTABLISHED. The register gives the controlling shareholder as Mr Stephen Hendel, born October 1951, American, of Larchmont, New York. A person of that name produced the stage musical Fela! This record does NOT assert they are the same person, because the register carries no fact that would establish it. Separately, a reported United States decision, Gasery v. Kalakuta Sunrise, LLC, 422 F.Supp.3d 807 (S.D.N.Y. 2019), names a Kalakuta Sunrise, LLC alongside Fela Broadway LLC and a Stephen Hendel. The opinion could not be retrieved: CourtListener returned zero results for the party name on two separate queries. The relationship, if any, between that American LLC and this English limited company is NOT established.
LICENSEE FINANCIALS, FOR CONTEXT ONLY. Kalakuta Sunrise Limited filed audited small-company accounts to 31 December 2024 on 23 December 2025. Because they are filleted, they carry no turnover figure. The tagged figures include cash at bank and in hand of 4,038,462 pounds (2023: 622,953), trade debtors of 2,164,953 pounds, total debtors of 2,312,110 pounds, stock of 536,438 pounds, current assets of 6,887,010 pounds and shareholders' funds of 650,152 pounds, with an average of 11 employees against 8 the year before. A creditors figure is tagged in the accounts but does not reconcile with the other tagged totals, so no creditors figure is published here. None of these numbers is a deal value and none should be read as one. A fixed and floating charge with a negative pledge over the whole of the company's property, in favour of Coutts & Company, was created on 10 May 2024 and satisfied on 12 June 2026.
The Fela Anikulapo-Kuti recorded catalogue has not been sold. It is owned by the Estate of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti and licensed, exclusively, to Kalakuta Sunrise Limited, a company registered in England and Wales.
The evidence is the phonogram credit that the rights holder delivers to digital services with the recordings. On 81 of the 90 Fela Kuti albums returned by the Apple catalogue for artist 55088, the line reads “Estate of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti under exclusive license to Kalakuta Sunrise Ltd”. The wording is a licence, not an assignment, and it names the owner and the licensee separately. The same 81 of 90 split appears identically on the United States, United Kingdom, Nigerian, South African, French, German, Japanese and Brazilian storefronts.
Femi Kuti, a named principal, described the same structure in an interview reported on 18 April 2026: “No, we never sold it. So it’s under Fela’s estate, which the family controls, but we licensed the music, so we control it. I don’t know how many more years we have right now, but when the years are done, we’ll take it over and license it again.”
The licensee is company number 07423466, incorporated on 29 October 2010, registered office 55 Loudoun Road, St John’s Wood, London NW8 0DL, SIC code 59200. One person with significant control is recorded: Mr Stephen Hendel of Larchmont, New York, notified on 6 April 2016, holding more than 75 per cent of shares and voting rights and the right to appoint and remove directors.
