Deal sheet
- Status
- Confirmed
- Type
- Licensing
- Parties
- Davido Music Worldwide, Sony Music Entertainment
- Amount
- Not disclosed
- Rights covered
- Master recordings. Davido's own company, credited on releases as either "Davido Music Worldwide Limited" or "Davido Worldwide Entertainment Limited/LLC," is named as owner on every studio album and EP from August 2018 ("Nwa Baby") through his July 2026 project Oriade, with Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited named as exclusive licensee on each. From October 2016 (Son of Mercy EP) through early 2018, releases instead carried a single credit, "Sony Music Entertainment International Limited," with no Davido-owned company named, indicating a different structure held during that window. Before the 2016 Sony deal, from 2012 to 2015, the same Davido-owned company was credited as owner under exclusive licence to Virgin Music Nigeria. RCA Records, the label named in the July 2016 signing announcement, does not appear as rights holder on any Davido solo release; it appears only on other artists' releases (French Montana, Khalid, Chris Brown) that feature Davido as a guest. Publishing rights are not addressed by any source checked.
- Territory
- Not stated for the current Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited licence. Trade coverage of the July 2016 signing described RCA's role as handling "North American music servicing and distribution," but RCA does not appear on the catalogue this record actually traces, and no source states a territorial scope for the UK-entity licence that does.
- Announced
- 2016-07-25
- Primary document
- Trade press
- Sources
- Music In Africa, 25 Jul 2016 (archived via the Internet Archive after the live URL stopped resolving), "Davido signs deal with Sony Music's RCA Records," quoting Sony Music division president Adam Granite and reproducing A&R executive Efe Ogbeni's on-record Instagram announcement naming RCA chairman Peter Edge · Apple Music catalogue lookup for artist Davido (Apple artist ID 254654363), read 30 August 2026, returning phonogram credits across 200-plus releases from 2012 to 2026 · Apple Music, Oriade (2026): phonogram credit "Davido Music Worldwide Limited under exclusive licence to Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited," the most recent release checked · Apple Music, Timeless (2023): identical phonogram-credit structure · Apple Music, Omo Baba Olowo: The Genesis (2012): earliest catalogue entry, credited to Davido Music Worldwide Limited under exclusive licence to Virgin Music Nigeria, predating the Sony deal · Music In Africa, 22 April 2024, on the separate Nine+ Records joint venture with UnitedMasters, quoting Davido and UnitedMasters CEO Steve Stoute directly · UK Companies House company search for "Davido Music Worldwide," conducted directly, returning no matching entity
Read this before citing: RCA IS NOT THE CREDITED RIGHTS HOLDER ON ANY DAVIDO ALBUM. Trade coverage of July 2016 called it a signing to RCA Records, and it was, in the sense that Davido committed to release music through the label. But no Davido solo release, from the EP that followed the signing through his 2026 album, carries RCA's name on the phonogram line. Every RCA credit found on a release featuring Davido belongs to another artist's own deal (French Montana, Khalid, Chris Brown), with Davido appearing only as a guest vocalist.
THE STRUCTURE CHANGED TWICE INSIDE ONE NOMINAL SONY RELATIONSHIP. From October 2016 to early 2018, releases carried a single, unqualified credit to Sony Music Entertainment International Limited, with no Davido-owned company named. From August 2018 onward the credit reverts to a structure this desk has documented elsewhere (CKay, Nyashinski, Tems): an artist-owned company named as owner, a specific Sony operating company named as exclusive licensee. No source explains what changed between 2016 and 2018 to produce that shift; it is recorded here as observed on the releases themselves, not as an event either party announced.
COMPANY REGISTRATION COULD NOT BE VERIFIED. Neither "Davido Music Worldwide Limited" nor "Davido Worldwide Entertainment" returns a match on UK Companies House, searched directly. Davido is Nigerian and Nigeria's Corporate Affairs Commission has no public search API, so this desk could not independently confirm the entity's jurisdiction, incorporation date or ownership through any primary registry. That is recorded as an unresolved gap.
NINE+ RECORDS IS A DIFFERENT DEAL. The April 2024 UnitedMasters partnership created a label for Davido to sign and develop other artists. It is not a change to the rights structure on his own recordings, which continued under the Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited licence through his most recent release. Some coverage describing the UnitedMasters deal as Davido "going independent" conflates the two.
No source discloses an advance, royalty rate, contract term, or territorial scope for either the 2016 Sony/RCA relationship or the licence structure that has applied since 2018.
Davido signed to Sony Music in January 2016 and to Sony’s RCA Records that July, both announced to the press. Neither name is the one that has appeared on his own recordings since. Every studio album and EP he has released from August 2018 through his most recent project, Oriadé (July 2026), carries the same phonogram credit: his own company, named on releases as either Davido Music Worldwide Limited or Davido Worldwide Entertainment, under exclusive licence to Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited. Not RCA. Not Sony’s international arm, the entity actually named in his first post-signing release. His own company owns the copyright; a UK-registered Sony division holds a licence to exploit it. Neither party has disclosed a rate, an advance or a term.
What actually changed hands, in order
Davido’s discography on Apple Music runs back to 2012, which makes it possible to date each shift in his catalogue’s ownership structure directly from the phonogram line rather than from press description. Before Sony, his own company already existed: the mixtape Omo Baba Olowo: The Genesis (July 2012) carries the credit “Davido Music Worldwide Limited, Under Exclusive License to Virgin Music Nigeria,” a structure that holds through singles including “Aye” (2014) and “The Money” (November 2015). His company owned the masters; Virgin Music Nigeria held a licence.
That changed in 2016. Davido announced on social media in January that he had signed to Sony Music Entertainment, a deal Sony confirmed to Nigerian press, quoting division president Adam Granite: “We are thrilled to welcome Davido into the Sony Music family.” Six months later, on 25 July 2016, Sony’s RCA Records signed him too, reported first through A&R executive Efe Ogbeni’s own social media post and photos with RCA chairman Peter Edge, then written up the same week by a pan-African music-industry trade outlet, which called the RCA signing evidence of “a broader working relationship” than the distribution deal some had assumed the January agreement to be.
What followed on the releases themselves does not name RCA. The EP Son of Mercy, out that October as the first project after both signings, carries the credit “Sony Music Entertainment International Limited,” with no RCA name and no Davido-owned company named as underlying rights holder. Every single he released through early 2018, including “If,” “Fall” and “Assurance,” carries the identical Sony International credit alone. For roughly two years, on the evidence of the phonogram line, Sony’s international division held the masters directly, not as licensee of Davido’s own company.
The structure changes again from August 2018. “Nwa Baby,” released that month, is the first release to carry the line “Davido Worldwide Entertainment LLC under exclusive licence to Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited,” naming his own company as owner and a specifically UK-registered Sony entity, not the international or American arm, as licensee. Every album since, A Good Time (2019), A Better Time (2020), Timeless (2023), the UNAVAILABLE EP and its remixes (2023), 5ive (2025) and Oriadé (2026), carries a variant of the same line, alternating between “Davido Music Worldwide Limited” and “Davido Worldwide Entertainment Limited” as the named owner. RCA Records does not appear on a single one of them.
Where RCA’s name actually shows up
RCA Records is not absent from Davido’s catalogue entirely, it is just never on his own music. It appears on other artists’ releases that feature him as a guest: French Montana’s “Blessings REMIX” (2020, credited to ByStorm Entertainment and RCA Records), Khalid’s “Know Your Worth” featuring Davido and Tems (2020, credited directly to RCA Records), and Chris Brown’s “Sensational” featuring Davido and Lojay (2023, Chris Brown Entertainment under exclusive licence to RCA Records). In each case RCA is the credited party for the primary artist’s own label, not for Davido’s contribution. The label that announced his signing in July 2016 has never been the credited rights holder on a Davido album, EP or solo single in the decade since.
Owns, licenses, signs: not the same claim
Trade coverage of both 2016 announcements described them as signings, which they were, in the sense that Davido committed to deliver albums to Sony. But “signing to a label” describes a recording commitment, not a rights transfer, and the two have diverged on Davido’s catalogue in a way the announcements did not anticipate. From 2018 onward the credit states plainly that a Davido-controlled company owns the copyright and a Sony entity holds an exclusive licence to exploit it, the same structure this desk has documented for CKay and Nyashinski on their post-major catalogues, and the same distinction Tems’ UK-based Since ’93 draws with RCA on her own releases. An exclusive licence is a real, exploitable rights interest, closer to what a traditional label deal grants than pure distribution is, but it is not ownership, and the entity holding it (Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited specifically) is not the one named in either 2016 press announcement.
The company behind the credit could not be verified on the UK register
Neither “Davido Music Worldwide Limited” nor “Davido Worldwide Entertainment” returns a match on the UK’s Companies House register, searched directly rather than inferred. That does not mean the entity does not exist; Davido is Nigerian, and Nigeria’s Corporate Affairs Commission has no public search API, so this desk could not independently confirm the company’s registration, jurisdiction or ownership structure through any primary registry. The Wikipedia-documented English-language name “Davido Music Worldwide” is the one this site’s own company directory carries, but its incorporation could not be established from a filing this desk has seen. That is recorded here as a gap, not filled with an assumption.
A separate 2024 deal, for other artists, not this catalogue
In April 2024, Davido entered a distinct venture, Nine+ Records, in partnership with the artist-services platform UnitedMasters. Trade coverage of the deal, dated 22 April 2024, quotes Davido directly: “Together, we are set to redefine the music landscape both African and global,” and UnitedMasters CEO Steve Stoute: “With this new venture with Davido and the launch of Nine+ Records, we reinforce our mission in becoming a bridge for artists on the continent.” Neither side disclosed a dollar figure. Nine+ Records is a label Davido runs to sign and develop other artists; it has no bearing on his own recordings, which continued to carry the Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited licence credit on every release that followed, including 5ive in April 2025 and Oriadé in July 2026. The two arrangements run in parallel and should not be conflated, as some coverage of the UnitedMasters deal did by describing it loosely as Davido “going independent.”
What this means for artists
A signing announcement freezes a moment; a phonogram credit updates every time a new one is filed, and it is the more current document. Davido’s own catalogue shows a rights structure can shift twice inside one nominal “Sony deal,” from direct label ownership (2016 to 2018) to an artist-owned-company-plus-licence structure (2018 onward), without either shift being announced as news. If a structure like this matters to your own contract, the phonogram credit on your first release under the new deal is the fastest public confirmation of what was actually signed, faster than waiting for trade coverage to catch up.
Keep the company that holds your name active before you need it, not after. Davido Music Worldwide already existed as a rights-holding entity in 2012, four years before the Sony deal and six years before it began appearing as the named owner on his releases again. Whatever renegotiation happened between 2016 and 2018 to move from a direct Sony credit back to a licensed structure, the vehicle to receive that shift already had a name and a track record on prior releases.
Limits of this record. The ownership sequence is drawn from Apple Music’s own catalogue metadata for Davido’s full discography, read directly across 200-plus releases from 2012 to August 2026, not from a secondary summary. The 2016 RCA Records signing is sourced to a pan-African music-industry trade outlet’s contemporaneous report, archived via the Internet Archive after the original URL stopped resolving, which quotes Sony’s Adam Granite and reproduces Efe Ogbeni’s on-record announcement. The 2024 UnitedMasters partnership is sourced to the same outlet’s report of 22 April 2024, quoting both Davido and Steve Stoute directly. Companies House was searched directly for “Davido Music Worldwide,” “Davido Worldwide Entertainment” and “DMW” and returned no match; this record states that as an unresolved gap rather than treating the absence as proof of a Nigerian registration this desk has not independently confirmed. No source discloses a royalty rate, advance, term or territorial limit for either the Sony/RCA relationship or the current Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited licence, and this record does not assert one.
