Deal sheet
- Status
- Active. Apple Inc. is recorded as the sole active person with significant control of Platoon Ltd as at the register state fetched on 7 September 2026. Platoon Ltd remains an active company. Its subsidiary Platoon SA Ltd (11252486) was dissolved on 4 May 2021.
- Type
- Acquisition
- Parties
- Platoon
- Amount
- Not disclosed. The UK register of persons with significant control records the fact, date and level of control but never records consideration, so no price, share count or valuation for the 6 December 2018 change of control has been established. A full-text search of the SEC electronic filing system for the phrase "Platoon Ltd" returned zero results, and Apple Inc. does not name Platoon in its published newsroom, so no filed or announced figure was located either.
- Rights covered
- Corporate control of a company, not a transfer of music rights. The register records Apple Inc. as holding 75% or more of the shares in Platoon Ltd, 75% or more of the voting rights, and the right to appoint or remove a majority of the board. It does not record any assignment or licence of sound recording or publishing copyright. Separately, and from a rights registry rather than the corporate register, MusicBrainz records 408 releases naming Platoon as the label, including Pheelz & Rii 'A Rii Set' (5 June 2026), Dope Saint Jude 'I Said What I Said' (27 February 2026), Amaarae 'Butterfly' (4 June 2021), Kwesi Arthur 'Baajo' (4 December 2020), Mr Eazi 'Leg Over' (2 December 2016) and four Nonso Amadi releases. A label credit names the party on the release and is not evidence of master ownership. Amaarae's 'SAD GIRLZ LUV MONEY (remix)' carries three labels, 0207 Def Jam, Golden Child Entertainment and Platoon, so Platoon is one named party there rather than the only one.
- Territory
- Company control is registered in the United Kingdom: Platoon Ltd is an England and Wales company, number 09782527, incorporated 17 September 2015, registered office moved from 41 Tileyard Road, London N7 9AH to 100 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6JA on 6 December 2018. The controlling party, Apple Inc., is registered in California, registration number C0806592, governing law California, legal form Public Corporation. The releases carrying the Platoon label are recorded by MusicBrainz with worldwide (XW) release events. No territorial limitation on any rights grant has been established because no rights grant has been established.
- Announced
- 2018-12-06
- Primary document
- Regulatory filing
- Sources
- Companies House, register of persons with significant control, PLATOON LTD (09782527) · Companies House, filing history, PLATOON LTD (09782527): PSC02 and PSC07 filed 18 December 2018, TM01 x2 and AP01 and AD01 filed 14 December 2018 · Companies House, officers, PLATOON LTD (09782527): every director appointed since December 2018 gives a corporate service address · Companies House, company overview, PLATOON LTD (09782527): incorporation date and accounting reference dates · Companies House, persons with significant control, PLATOON SA LTD (11252486): controlled by Platoon Ltd, notified 13 March 2018 · Companies House, company overview, PLATOON SA LTD (11252486): incorporated 13 March 2018, dissolved 4 May 2021 · MusicBrainz label Platoon: official site URL relationship points at Companies House company 09782527 · MusicBrainz: 408 releases carrying the Platoon label · SEC submissions index for Apple Inc. (CIK 0000320193): fiscal year end 0926, 10-K periods ending 2024-09-28 and 2025-09-27
Read this before citing: This record establishes corporate control of a company. It does not establish who owns any master recording or any publishing copyright. Nothing fetched shows the contractual relationship between Platoon and any artist named here, so whether Platoon owns, licenses, administers or merely distributes any given release is unestablished and is not asserted. The site's existing company profile for Platoon already stated an Apple parent, but sourced it only to trade press; this record upgrades that claim to a primary register. Platoon's own website could not be reached: requests to platoon.ai, platoon.co and platoon.com did not resolve, so the company's own published description of its terms could not be read. What the letters 'SA' denote in the dissolved subsidiary Platoon SA Ltd is not stated in the register and has not been inferred.
Apple Inc. is the only active person with significant control of Platoon Ltd, the London label-services company whose name appears as the label on releases by Pheelz, Amaarae, Kwesi Arthur, Mr Eazi, Nonso Amadi, Bongeziwe Mabandla and Dope Saint Jude. The United Kingdom register records Apple as notified on 6 December 2018, holding 75% or more of the shares, 75% or more of the voting rights, and the right to appoint or remove directors.
No consideration is recorded. The person with significant control register never records a price, and it is not a record of what was paid.
What the register shows, filing by filing
Platoon Ltd was incorporated on 17 September 2015, company number 09782527. The person with significant control register for that company lists one active controller and zero active statements.
The active entry reads: Apple Inc., correspondence address One Apple Park Way, Cupertino, California 95014, United States. Governing law California. Legal form Public Corporation. Place registered California. Registration number C0806592. Incorporated in USA. Notified on 6 December 2018. Nature of control: ownership of shares 75% or more, ownership of voting rights 75% or more, right to appoint or remove directors.
The ceased entry immediately below it reads: Mr Denzyl Feigelson, notified on 30 June 2016, ceased on 6 December 2018, ownership of shares more than 25% but not more than 50%, ownership of voting rights more than 25% but not more than 50%.
The filing history dates the paperwork. Two person with significant control forms were filed on 18 December 2018: a PSC02 notifying Apple Inc. as a corporate controller with effect from 6 December 2018, and a PSC07 recording the cessation of Denzyl Feigelson as a controller on the same date. Four days earlier, on 14 December 2018, three officer forms were filed, all effective 6 December 2018: TM01 terminating Denzyl Feigelson as a director, TM01 terminating Saul Charles Klein as a director, and AP01 appointing Peter Ronald Denwood. Denwood’s service address on that appointment is One Apple Park Way, Cupertino. An AD01 filed the same day moved the registered office from 41 Tileyard Road, London N7 9AH to 100 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6JA.
Every director appointed since gives a corporate service address rather than a residential one. Peter Ronald Denwood served from 6 December 2018 to 1 December 2024. Michael Joseph Boyd, of Apple Park, served from 30 June 2020 to 24 January 2023. Eamonn Clancy, of Hollyhill Industrial Estate, Cork, was appointed 24 January 2023. Alia Azmi, of 1 Battersea Power Station, was appointed 28 November 2023. Jamie Wonji Wong, of 1 Battersea Power Station, was appointed 1 December 2024. Abogado Nominees Limited has been company secretary since 30 June 2020.
The accounting reference date moved to Apple’s fiscal calendar
Platoon Ltd’s accounts before the change were made up to 30 September 2017 and 30 September 2018. Its recent accounts are made up to 28 September 2024 and 27 September 2025.
Apple Inc.’s filing index at the Securities and Exchange Commission gives a fiscal year end of 0926 and annual report periods ending 28 September 2024 and 27 September 2025. Platoon’s accounting reference dates match Apple’s fiscal period ends exactly. That is consistent with a subsidiary reporting into a parent’s consolidation calendar. It is corroboration of the control relationship the register already states, not a separate finding.
A subsidiary named Platoon SA Ltd existed for three years
Platoon SA Ltd, company number 11252486, was incorporated on 13 March 2018 and dissolved on 4 May 2021. Its person with significant control register names Platoon Ltd, company number 09782527, notified on 13 March 2018, holding 75% or more of shares and voting rights.
Denzyl Feigelson was its director from incorporation until 6 December 2018, the same date as the Platoon Ltd changes, and was replaced by Peter Ronald Denwood at the Cupertino address. What the letters SA stand for is not stated anywhere in the register and has not been inferred here.
How the label is tied to the company
The identification of the record label with the UK company is made by the rights registry, not by inference. The MusicBrainz label entry for Platoon, identifier 256fb514-721c-4f3e-a44b-1960529c9dad, is typed as an Original Production label, area London, label code 56253, and carries an official site URL relationship pointing at the Companies House page for company 09782527.
What Platoon is the named label on
MusicBrainz records 408 releases carrying the Platoon label. African releases among them, with dates as recorded:
- Mr Eazi, Leg Over, 2 December 2016
- Nonso Amadi, Radio (2016), Emergency (1 March 2019), Comfortable (17 May 2019), Free (9 August 2019)
- Dope Saint Jude, Grrrl Like (14 September 2018), Go High Go Low (13 March 2020), I Said What I Said (27 February 2026)
- Bongeziwe Mabandla, four releases across 2019 and 2020
- Darkie Fiction, Endaweni, 10 April 2020
- Kanyi Mavi, IGUBU LAM, 27 November 2020
- Moonga K., releases dated 24 April 2020 and 3 September 2021
- Kwesi Arthur, Baajo, 4 December 2020
- Karen Zoid, releases dated 2019 and 2021
- Amaarae, Butterfly (4 June 2021) and SAD GIRLZ LUV MONEY (remix) (16 September 2021)
- Derek Gripper, releases dated 2021 and 2024
- Pheelz & Rii, A Rii Set, 5 June 2026, eight tracks, worldwide, barcode 5059449305974
One of these carries more than one label. SAD GIRLZ LUV MONEY (remix) is recorded with three: 0207 Def Jam, Golden Child Entertainment and Platoon. Platoon is one named party on that release, not the only one.
The same label also appears on Apple Original soundtracks, including SILO Season 3 dated 3 July 2026 and Outcome dated 10 April 2026.
What this record does not establish
A label credit in a rights registry records the party named on a release. It is not a statement of who owns the sound recording copyright. Nothing fetched here establishes who owns the masters on any of the releases listed, who owns or administers the publishing, or what the contractual relationship between Platoon and any named artist is.
No price, share count or valuation for the December 2018 change of control has been established. The person with significant control register does not record consideration. A full-text search of the Securities and Exchange Commission’s electronic filing system for the phrase “Platoon Ltd” returned zero results, and Apple Inc. does not name Platoon in its published newsroom. Apple’s own subsidiary disclosure was not located naming the entity.
Platoon’s own website could not be reached at the time of checking. Requests to platoon.ai, platoon.co and platoon.com did not resolve, so the company’s own published description of its terms could not be read.
