Skip to content

Music news, business and culture.

Join Newsletter

Virgin Music Group and Ghana’s Rain Labs: The Deal Record

Deal sheet

Status
Announced
Type
Distribution
Parties
Virgin Music Group, Universal Music Group, Rain Labs, Ziiki Media
Amount
Not disclosed. No consideration, advance, distribution fee, revenue split or minimum guarantee was stated by either party, and no equity is stated to have changed hands.
Rights covered
Distribution and label services only, on the face of every document checked. Virgin Music Group provides digital distribution, marketing, creative production and brand partnerships to Rain Labs and its roster, with delivery stated as over 128 digital streaming platforms. No transfer or assignment of master recordings is stated. No transfer, assignment or administration of publishing copyrights is stated, and no publisher or administrator for any roster songwriter could be established from any document checked. No equity stake in Rain Labs is stated. The announcement does not use the word exclusive; Rain Labs co-founder Albert Donkor described the distribution partnership as exclusive in an interview published two days later, and added that the company remains open to working with other labels. Separately, the phonogram credit lines on Rain Labs releases changed formulation during 2025: releases up to 13 February 2025 read as the artist's own entity under exclusive rights or exclusive licence to rain. Labs, and from 25 April 2025 releases begin to read as rain. Labs under exclusive licence from the artist's entity. In both formulations the artist's entity retains ownership and grants a licence; what changes is which party asserts the sound recording right on the release. Both formulations appear on releases dated 1 May 2025.
Territory
Not disclosed. The announcement is datelined Lagos, Nigeria and is led by Virgin Music Group Nigeria, while Rain Labs is based in Accra, Ghana with a London office. No contractual territory, term or renewal provision appears in any document checked.
Announced
2025-02-05
Primary document
Official newsroom
Sources
Virgin Music Group's own newsroom: the announcement of its partnership with Rain Labs, datelined Lagos, Nigeria, 5 February 2025, with quotes from Albert Donkor of Rain Labs and Olukorede Ikazoboh, managing director of Virgin Music Group Nigeria, and a named seven-artist roster · Direct statement from a named party, 7 February 2025: Rain Labs co-founder Albert Donkor confirms the prior distribution partnership was with Vydia, states the distribution partnership is exclusive, states Rain Labs remains open to working with other labels, and gives a roster list that differs from the one in the Virgin announcement · Rain Labs' own site: describes the company as a boutique music marketing company based in Accra and London, lists its services and its current roster, and carries a partner logo wall whose alt attributes name Vydia, UMG, Sony Music, Warner Media, Believe, Apple Music, Audiomack, Boomplay, Spotify and YouTube, with no Virgin Music Group mark · Companies House register entry for RAIN LABS ENTERTAINMENT LTD, company number 13606176: incorporated 7 September 2021, active, private limited, SIC 93290, registered office in Northampton · Companies House officers list: Albert Donkor and Benewaah Boateng active directors; Linford Kennedy Amankwaa resigned 17 August 2026; Michael Elias Ashkar resigned 25 August 2026 · Companies House PSC register: Albert Donkor sole active person with significant control, notified 14 April 2023, nature of control recorded as significant influence or control, no shareholding band disclosed; an earlier statement of no registrable person was withdrawn on 14 April 2023 · Apple Music catalogue metadata for Joey B: phonogram lines read World Records through 19 December 2023, then rain. Labs under exclusive licence from World Records from 25 April 2025, with a 21 May 2026 release reverting to World Records and Sam and Sons · Apple Music catalogue metadata for Cina Soul: rain. Labs credits from 21 September 2023 to 4 September 2024, and Ziiki Media credits from 29 November 2024 onward, including two conflicting entries for the same 9 August 2024 title · Apple Music catalogue metadata for Baaba J: rain. Labs credits from 7 July 2022 to 30 June 2023, then under exclusive licence to Sede from 22 March 2024 onward · Deezer release metadata: label field reads RainLabs, release date 10 June 2026, UPC 823375198994; Virgin Music Group does not appear in the label field

Read this before citing: This is a distribution and services agreement, not an acquisition, a catalogue licence or an investment. Nothing in any document checked transfers master recordings, transfers or assigns publishing copyrights, or moves equity, and no amount, term, territory, exclusivity or fee is disclosed in the announcement. Four conflicts and gaps stand unresolved. First, the announcement does not describe the arrangement as exclusive, while Rain Labs' co-founder called the distribution partnership exclusive in an interview two days later and in the same interview said the company remains open to working with other labels; the two statements are not necessarily inconsistent, because a distribution exclusive and a label partnership are different things, but no document reconciles them. Second, the roster the Virgin announcement names and the roster Rain Labs' co-founder gave two days later overlap on only two names, Joey B and MAUIMOON. Third, of the seven artists named in the announcement, Cina Soul's most recent phonogram credit before the announcement read Ziiki Media, dated 29 November 2024, and Baaba J's read under exclusive licence to Sede, dated 22 March 2024 and repeated on 15 November 2024 and 5 February 2025; both remained listed on Rain Labs' own roster page when it was checked on 10 September 2026, and no document checked explains the discrepancy. Fourth, Joey B carried no rain. Labs credit of any kind until 25 April 2025, eleven weeks after the announcement named him. A methodological caveat applies throughout: the phonogram line records the party asserting the sound recording right as filed with the platform, and delivery arrangements can affect whose name is entered, so a credit line is evidence about the credit as filed and not proof of the terms of a contract. Two further points could not be established: whether RAIN LABS ENTERTAINMENT LTD is the contracting party or a separate vehicle from the Ghanaian operation, and the identity of any publisher or administrator for any roster songwriter. A minor dating discrepancy is noted: Virgin Music Group's own page carries a printed dateline and structured publication date of 5 February 2025, while trade coverage carrying the same statement is dated 4 February 2025.

Virgin Music Group, the label and artist services division of Universal Music Group, announced a partnership with the Accra and London company Rain Labs on 5 February 2025. The announcement was issued from Lagos and led by Virgin Music Group Nigeria.

The stated scope is services: digital distribution, marketing, creative production and brand partnerships, with delivery to what the announcement calls over 128 digital streaming platforms. No transfer of master recordings is stated. No transfer or administration of publishing copyrights is stated. No equity in Rain Labs is stated to change hands. No amount, term, territory or exclusivity is disclosed in the announcement itself, although Rain Labs’ co-founder Albert Donkor described the distribution partnership as exclusive in an interview two days later.

The announcement named seven artists: Joey B, Cina Soul, Baaba J, MAUIMOON, Kofee Bean, Ess the Legend and AD DJ.

Phonogram credit lines checked across that roster do not name Virgin Music Group on any release. That is consistent with a distribution agreement rather than a rights transfer, because the phonogram line records the party asserting the sound recording right and not the distributor. The credit lines do show a change in Rain Labs’ own position: releases up to early 2025 read as the artist’s entity under exclusive rights or licence to rain. Labs, and from 25 April 2025 releases begin to read as rain. Labs under exclusive licence from the artist’s entity. Ownership in that later formulation remains with the artist’s entity, which grants an exclusive licence; the change is in which party asserts the phonogram right on the release.

Share this story

Written by

Yewande Coker

Yewande Coker is Afrobeats Wire's business editor. She covers the money side of African music: catalogue acquisitions, distribution and publishing deal structures, label finances, and the ownership chains behind the continent's biggest rights.

More from this desk →

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

Pick your tempo

Who owns what, who got paid, and who is about to. The business behind African music, told like it is actually interesting (because it is).

  • The deals and catalogue sales nobody put out a press release for
  • Chart moves and streaming numbers we actually fact-checked (wild, we know)
  • Fresh names added to the directory, vetted before you ever see them

Free forever Ghost us anytime, one click

Get the inside track from Afrobeats Wire

Choose your speed. We will handle the rest.

How fast do you want it?

Your inbox is sacred. This address is used for the newsletter and nothing else, never sold, never passed on. Privacy policy.