Deal sheet
- Status
- Publishing signing confirmed by the signing party's own announcement; no terms disclosed. The separate masters licence to CCA is evidenced only by phonogram credit lines and is unannounced by any party.
- Type
- Publishing
- Parties
- Gallo Music Publishers, Content Connect Africa
- Amount
- Not disclosed Not disclosed. Gallo Music Publishers' announcement states no consideration, advance, royalty rate or equity. No other document reached by this desk prices the publishing signing, and no document of any kind states consideration for the separate masters licence to CCA.
- Rights covered
- Publishing and composition rights (the songwriter/composer side). Gallo Music Publishers announced that Olley RSA (Thomas Mokoena) signed with it on 10 February 2026. The announcement does not specify whether the arrangement is an assignment of copyright in the compositions, an administration mandate, or a co-publishing deal, and it names no rights schedule, split or catalogue. Gallo Music Publishers' own business description covers publishing administration for songwriters and composers, sub-publishing and library music, which is consistent with an administration or publishing agreement rather than a transfer of recordings.
Separately, and not part of this announcement, the phonogram credit on two 2026 master recordings reads "Olley RSA under exclusive license to CCA", placing Olley RSA as licensor and CCA (understood as Content Connect Africa) as licensee of those masters. No party has announced that licence, and its term, territory, exclusivity scope and consideration are all unstated. The masters licence is therefore recorded here as a separate matter with unconfirmed terms, not as part of the publishing signing. Publishing concerns the composition; the master concerns the recording. They are distinct rights and on this evidence they sit with two different companies.
- Territory
- Not disclosed in the source. Gallo Music Publishers' announcement expresses no territorial scope for the publishing signing, and names no sub-publishing or carve-out arrangement. The separate phonogram credit naming CCA as exclusive licensee states no territory either, so whether that licence is worldwide or regional is unestablished.
- Announced
- 2026-02-10
- Primary document
- Official newsroom
- Sources
- Gallo Music Publishers' own announcement page, headed "Olley RSA Joins Gallo Music Publishers", dated 10 February 2026, fetched directly and read in full on 3 October 2026 (HTTP 200). States: "Big congratulations to Olley RSA (Thomas Mokoena) on officially signing with Gallo Music Publishers!" Confirms the signing and the artist's legal name. Discloses no rights schedule, term, territory or consideration, and names no company other than Gallo Music Publishers. · Apple Music release page for "Passion (feat. ExzyBeatz & Tzzy Makhathaza)", release date 27 February 2026, read 3 October 2026. Phonogram line, verbatim: "℗ 2026 Olley RSA under exclusive license to CCA". The first located release in this artist's catalogue whose phonogram credit names him rather than a third party's imprint. · Apple Music release page for "Khalisa (feat. Gubzin & Amaza)", release date 31 July 2026, read 3 October 2026. Identical phonogram line: "℗ 2026 Olley RSA under exclusive license to CCA". Shows the arrangement persisted at least five months. · Apple/iTunes catalogue API, artist-level lookup queried directly 3 October 2026. Returned 32 album-level records dated 24 November 2022 to 30 June 2026 with the copyright field exposed, which the Apple Music web pages do not serve to a server-side fetch. Source of the full release-by-release phonogram table in this record. · Apple/iTunes catalogue search queried directly 3 October 2026. Surfaced 7 further releases not carried in the artist-level lookup, including "Khalisa" and the "Jakalas (feat. Olley RSA)" record whose songwriter credits list Thomas Mokoena, corroborating the legal name given in Gallo's announcement. · Content Connect Africa's own about page, read directly 3 October 2026 (HTTP 200). Opens "Content Connect Africa (CCA) is a leading independent media and content business", corroborating that the company uses the abbreviation "CCA" of itself. A services description covering distribution, marketing, publishing and sync clearances. Contains no ownership statement and, specifically, no statement that clients retain ownership of their masters: the word "retain" does not appear on the page. · This desk's own record on the Gallo/CCA 45% stake: Gallo Music Investments' September 2021 purchase of a 45 percent minority stake in Content Connect Africa, price and seller not disclosed. Cited here as the sole documented corporate link between the publishing signing party and the masters licensee, and for its separate finding that the Arena Holdings group-structure description is unreconciled. · South Africa's Companies and Intellectual Property Commission. Checked and unavailable: publishes no free public search interface this desk can query, so whether "Olley RSA" is a registered entity or a trade name over Thomas Mokoena individually could not be established. · MusicBrainz web service. Checked and unavailable as corroboration: returned a count of zero for this artist, so no rights-registry record of label, catalogue or release relationships exists to cross-check the Apple phonogram credits against.
Read this before citing: The publishing signing is confirmed by the signing party's own announcement, but that announcement discloses no rights schedule, term, territory or consideration, so "not disclosed" is the accurate reading of amount and territory rather than a placeholder.
The masters relationship is not announced by anybody. It is known only from the phonogram credit lines on two releases, "Passion" (27 February 2026) and "Khalisa" (31 July 2026), both reading "℗ 2026 Olley RSA under exclusive license to CCA". Neither Gallo Music Publishers, Content Connect Africa nor the artist has publicly addressed it. A credit line establishes that a licence exists and names its licensee; it does not report contract status, term, territory, royalty rate, advance, option or reversion.
"CCA" is not expanded in the credit string. Content Connect Africa is the only South African music company publicly known by that abbreviation and uses it of itself ("Content Connect Africa (CCA) is a leading independent media and content business"), so the identification is well supported, but it remains an inference from an abbreviation rather than a stated fact.
The corporate link between the two companies is partial and must not be overstated. Gallo Music Publishers names Gallo Music Investments (Arena Holdings) as its parent, and this desk's own record establishes that Gallo Music Investments bought a 45 percent stake in Content Connect Africa in September 2021, price and seller not disclosed. Forty-five percent is a minority holding by definition. This is not common ownership and this record does not treat the two companies as one undertaking. The wider group-structure question is separately unresolved on this desk, because Virgin Music Group's newsroom describes Content Connect Africa as "acquired by The Music Arena in 2020", which this desk has found irreconcilable with a 45 percent minority stake being the only documented transaction in that shareholding.
The 17-day gap between the publishing signing and the first self-credited release is a coincidence in time and nothing more. No document links the two events causally and this record asserts no causal connection.
The self-naming credit is selective, not general. Seven located releases dated after 27 February 2026 still carry other parties' phonogram credits (GrooveHub preceding it on 13 February, then DanceAfrika, Royal Chamber Communications, Lebzatainment, West Night Productions twice, Ubizo Cafe and Mbalithereal). That indicates either that the CCA licence is not exclusive across his output or that not all of his output clears through the same entity. Which is correct could not be established.
Whether "Olley RSA" in the licensor position is a registered entity or merely a trade name over Thomas Mokoena individually could not be established: the credit string carries no legal-form suffix, and South Africa's Companies and Intellectual Property Commission publishes no free public search interface this desk can query. MusicBrainz returned a count of zero for this artist, so no rights-registry corroboration was available. UK Companies House is not applicable to a South African entity and no API key is configured in this environment regardless.
One characterisation this desk checked and could not confirm: Content Connect Africa's about page contains no statement that its clients retain ownership of their master recordings. Read directly on 3 October 2026 it is a services description covering distribution, marketing, publishing, sync clearances and workshops, with no ownership statement of any kind. Any inference about ownership retention rests on the wording of the credit line alone.
On 10 February 2026 Gallo Music Publishers announced on its own site that it had signed the South African artist Olley RSA. The announcement reads, in full on the point: “Big congratulations to Olley RSA (Thomas Mokoena) on officially signing with Gallo Music Publishers!” It names no rights, no territory, no term and no consideration, and it names no company other than Gallo Music Publishers itself.
That is a publishing signing. Gallo Music Publishers’ own directory profile describes its business as publishing administration for songwriters and composers, sub-publishing and library music. Publishing concerns the composition, the song as written, and the songwriter’s share of it. It is a different right from the master recording, which is the particular recorded performance, and it is capable of sitting with an entirely different company.
Seventeen days later, a recording appeared with a phonogram credit that had never previously appeared anywhere in this artist’s catalogue. It named him.
What the phonogram credit lines show, release by release
Across roughly 39 located releases dated 24 November 2022 to 31 July 2026, Olley RSA appears under roughly 22 different phonogram holders. Almost all of them are a producer’s or a collaborator’s imprint. Exactly two name Olley RSA himself, and both place him in the licensor position, granting to a licensee abbreviated “CCA”.
| Release | Apple release date | Apple phonogram line, verbatim |
|---|---|---|
| Inhliziyo (feat. Olley RSA & Samora) | 24 November 2022 | ℗ 2022 Statemint (PTY) LTD |
| Dalie (feat. Musical Acid) | 27 December 2024 | ℗ 2024 Khaya Lyf |
| Ngisize | 1 August 2025 | ℗ 2025 AmaGroovies Music |
| Buku Buku | 3 October 2025 | ℗ 2025 AmaGroovies Music |
| Lihle Are You Walking (feat. Qwesta Kufet, Lintonto, TeeKay M10 & Luna Deep) | 13 February 2026 | ℗ 2026 GrooveHub |
| Passion (feat. ExzyBeatz & Tzzy Makhathaza) | 27 February 2026 | ℗ 2026 Olley RSA under exclusive license to CCA |
| Sonke (feat. Olley RSA) | 6 March 2026 | ℗ 2026 DanceAfrika |
| Unfinished Stories (feat. Galaxie, Olley RSA, Blaq Child, Classic Desire, Pablo Rsa, Sbuda da Hit & Viiictormay) | 11 April 2026 | ℗ 2026 Royal Chamber Communications |
| Bonga (feat. Rilla_RSA, Nkosana De Prince, Dimples Dlamini & Enoch) | 8 May 2026 | ℗ 2026 Lebzatainment |
| Ditaba (feat. Olley RSA) | 30 May 2026 | ℗ 2026 West Night Productions |
| Icamagu | 30 June 2026 | ℗ 2026 West Night Productions |
| Khalisa (feat. Gubzin & Amaza) | 31 July 2026 | ℗ 2026 Olley RSA under exclusive license to CCA |
All phonogram lines above were read on 3 October 2026 directly from Apple’s catalogue API, which exposes the copyright field that the Apple Music web pages do not serve to a server-side fetch. The artist-level lookup returned 32 album-level records; a catalogue search surfaced a further 7 not carried in that lookup, including “Khalisa”. Olley RSA is identified as Thomas Mokoena by Gallo Music Publishers’ own announcement, corroborated independently by the songwriter credits on “Jakalas (feat. Olley RSA)”, which list Thomas Mokoena among the writers.
Two things follow from the table, and only two. First, the self-naming credit is new: for more than three years before February 2026 this artist’s recordings were credited to other parties’ imprints without exception. Second, it is selective rather than general. Seven located releases dated after 27 February 2026 still carry a third party’s phonogram credit. Whatever the arrangement with CCA covers, it does not appear to cover everything he records.
Publishing and masters are two different rights, and the link between the two companies is partial
The announcement establishes a publishing relationship. The credit line, separately, establishes that a licence of some kind exists over two master recordings and names its licensee. These are not the same transaction, and no document reached by this desk connects them.
“CCA” is not expanded anywhere in the credit string. Content Connect Africa is the only South African music company publicly known by that abbreviation, and it uses the abbreviation itself: its about page opens “Content Connect Africa (CCA) is a leading independent media and content business.” The identification is therefore well supported but remains an inference from an abbreviation, not a stated fact.
The wording matters. “Olley RSA under exclusive license to CCA” places Olley RSA in the licensor position and CCA in the licensee position. On the face of that string the licensee did not acquire these masters. It took rights in them from the named licensor.
There is a corporate connection between the publishing company and the masters licensee, and it is important to state its limits. This desk’s own record on the September 2021 transaction establishes that Gallo Music Investments bought a 45 percent stake in Content Connect Africa, price and seller not disclosed. Gallo Music Publishers names Gallo Music Investments (Arena Holdings) as its parent.
So the accurate framing is narrow: Olley RSA’s publishing went to a company whose own group holds a documented 45 percent stake in the company his masters are now licensed to. Forty-five percent is a minority holding by definition. This is not common ownership, and this record does not treat the two companies as one. The broader group-structure question is separately unresolved on this desk: Virgin Music Group’s newsroom describes Content Connect Africa as “acquired by The Music Arena in 2020”, a description this desk has found irreconcilable with a 45 percent minority stake being the only documented transaction in that shareholding.
What is not established
No party has announced any agreement between Olley RSA and Content Connect Africa. The masters relationship is known only from the credit line itself. Neither company has commented on it, and no announcement, filing or statement describing it has been located.
The terms of that licence are entirely undisclosed. Whether it is exclusive worldwide or for a defined territory, for what term, with what royalty rate, advance, option or reversion trigger, appears nowhere. The credit line establishes that a licence exists and names the licensee. It does nothing else.
Whether “Olley RSA” in the licensor position is a registered company or simply a trade name over Thomas Mokoena as an individual could not be established. The credit string carries no legal-form suffix such as (Pty) Ltd. South Africa’s Companies and Intellectual Property Commission publishes no free public search interface this desk can query, so the point was checked and left unresolved.
MusicBrainz has no coverage of this artist at all: a query returned a count of zero, so no registry corroboration of label or catalogue relationships was available. UK Companies House is not applicable, since no South African entity of this kind would appear there, and no API key is configured in this environment in any case.
The 17-day gap between the publishing signing on 10 February 2026 and the first self-credited release on 27 February 2026 is a documented coincidence in time and nothing more. No document links the two events causally, and this record does not assert that one caused or followed from the other.
The repetition of the identical credit on “Khalisa” on 31 July 2026 shows the arrangement persisted for at least five months. It does not show it is exclusive across his output, and the seven post-February releases carrying other parties’ credits indicate either that it is not, or that not all of his output clears through the same entity. Which of those is correct could not be established.
Contrary to a characterisation this desk checked and could not confirm, Content Connect Africa’s about page contains no statement that its clients retain ownership of their master recordings. Read directly on 3 October 2026, it is a services description covering distribution, marketing, publishing, sync clearances and workshops. Any inference about ownership retention rests on the credit line’s own wording, not on the company’s description of its business.
