Deal sheet
- Status
- Unresolved
- Type
- Licensing
- Parties
- Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd, Sound African Recordings
- Amount
- Not disclosed
- Rights covered
- Not specified by either party. What the documents show is the phonogram credit line on the artist's own commercial releases, which is the copyright claim in the sound recording, and the label of record each streaming service files those releases under. From 29 May 2026 the Apple phonogram line on MetroBeatz RSA's releases names Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd jointly with Mossetia Bongani Macebele, in the form "℗ 2026 South Africa", then an ASCII hyphen, then the company name, a forward slash and the individual's name. That line appears on both Superstar (29 May 2026) and Mabyala (28 August 2026), and Deezer files both under the label Sound African Recordings. Every earlier release in the catalogue names an independent entity: SKN Entertainment, Swa Ku Nandzika Entertainment, Hood Power Entertainment/PnD Productions, or the artist's own Mossetia Music Group. The ISRC registrant code moved at the same point, from CA-ENV and ZB-3XL on the 2025 releases to ZA-A01 on both 2026 releases, the same registrant code carried by Sha Sha's Woza, whose phonogram line names Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd. No source states whether masters were assigned, licensed, or left with the artist, and no publishing right is mentioned in any source located.
- Territory
- South Africa, on the face of the credit line only. Both 2026 phonogram lines open with the words "South Africa" before naming Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd, and that company is the group's South African operating entity. Neither the artist nor the company has stated a contractual territory, and no source reviewed says whether the arrangement is South African, African or worldwide. Both releases were live in Apple Music's South African storefront and on Deezer when read on 11 September 2026.
- Announced
- 2026-03-20
- Primary document
- Rights registry
- Sources
- Apple catalogue lookup for MetroBeatz RSA (Apple artist ID 1709204217), South African storefront, read 11 September 2026, returning the phonogram credit line and release date for all 31 releases in his catalogue including both 2026 releases credited to Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd · Statement by the artist on his own Facebook page (MetroBeatz SA / princeofgaza01), read 11 September 2026, saying "I'm officially signed to Sony Music Entertainment Africa" and naming no terms, no entity beyond that company, and no contract type · Trade tracker of 2026 African label signings, read 11 September 2026, carrying a MetroBeatz RSA entry dated 20 March 2026 and reading "MetroBeatz RSA has officially joined Sony Music Entertainment Africa, marking a major step in his career" · Deezer album endpoint for Mabyala, read 11 September 2026, returning label "Sound African Recordings", release date 2026-08-28 and UPC 196874657805 · Deezer album endpoint for Superstar, read 11 September 2026, returning label "Sound African Recordings", release date 2026-05-29 and UPC 196874386965 · Deezer album endpoint for Born For This, read 11 September 2026, returning label "Mossetia Music Group", release date 2025-10-08 and UPC 057829599659 · Deezer album endpoint for Vatswari, read 11 September 2026, returning label "Mossetia Music Group", release date 2025-12-17 and UPC 057914352015 · Deezer album endpoint for Prince Of Gaza, read 11 September 2026, returning label "SKN Entertainment", release date 2025-04-16 and UPC 056870898872 · Deezer track endpoint for Mabyala, read 11 September 2026, returning ISRC ZAA012600192 · Deezer track endpoint for Superstar, read 11 September 2026, returning ISRC ZAA012600147 · Deezer track endpoint for Ya rila gaza from Born For This, read 11 September 2026, returning ISRC ZB3XL2500019 · Deezer track endpoint for Vatswari, read 11 September 2026, returning ISRC ZB3XL2500027 · Deezer track endpoint for Xitori Na Xitori from Prince Of Gaza, read 11 September 2026, returning ISRC CAENV2557880 · Apple lookup for Sha Sha's Woza (collection 1542336370), read 11 September 2026, returning a phonogram line reading "℗ 2020 South Africa", then an ASCII hyphen, then "Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd/Blaqboy Music Corporation (Pty) Ltd", the comparator showing Sony Africa's usual joint credit naming a partner company · Deezer album endpoint for Sha Sha's Woza, read 11 September 2026, returning label "Sound African Recordings", release date 2020-12-04 and UPC 886448926566, tying the imprint name to the Sony Music Entertainment Africa phonogram line on the same product · Deezer track endpoint for Sha Sha's Woza, read 11 September 2026, returning ISRC ZAA012000409, the same ZA-A01 registrant code carried by both 2026 MetroBeatz RSA releases · Sound African Recordings' own X account, read 11 September 2026, joined May 2014, location South Africa, bio reading "Sound African Recordings", then an ASCII hyphen, then "A Division of @SonyMusicAfrica." · Label feature dated 8 December 2025 describing Sound African Recordings as "a subsidiary of Sony Music Africa", founded 2014, naming Katlego Malatji as Director of South African Repertoire and a former lawyer, and listing Sha Sha, Samthing Soweto, Daliwonga, Aymos, Young Stunna, MFR Souls and Scorpion Kings among its artists · Public artist directory profile, read 11 September 2026, giving the artist's name as "Macebele Bongani Mossetia, professionally known as MetroBeatz RSA", placing him "from the small village of Khakhala in Limpopo, Giyani", describing a move from hip hop to amapiano and a recent venture into the xigaza genre, and naming no record label
Read this before citing: THIS IS NOT A RECORD OF A DISCLOSED TRANSACTION. No acquisition, master purchase or catalogue sale is claimed here and none is evidenced. What is established is narrower: the artist said on his own Facebook page that he is "officially signed to Sony Music Entertainment Africa"; a trade tracker of 2026 African label signings dated that announcement to 20 March 2026; and from 29 May 2026 the phonogram credit on his own commercial releases names Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd jointly with his personal legal name, with Sound African Recordings as the label of record on Deezer. Everything else in this record is inference-free description of metadata.
THE STRUCTURE IS NOT STATED BY EITHER PARTY. Whether this is a recording contract, an exclusive licence, a distribution agreement or something else is not said anywhere reviewed. The deal type is filed as Licensing because that is the closest available classification in this site's vocabulary given that the only documented change is in the phonogram credit and the label of record, not because any source describes a licence. If either party states the structure, this classification should be revisited.
NO AMOUNT EXISTS ANYWHERE. No advance, fee, royalty rate, term length or option structure appears in any source located. "Not disclosed" is the accurate entry, not a placeholder for a figure this desk failed to find. No currency is recorded for the same reason.
A PHONOGRAM LINE IS NOT A CONTRACT. A credit line records who claims copyright in the recording as delivered to a service. It does not by itself establish that masters were assigned, that a licence was granted, or which of those two happened. This record does not resolve whether Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd owns, licenses or merely distributes the 2026 recordings.
THE JOINT CREDIT NAMES A PERSON, NOT A COMPANY, AND THAT IS UNUSUAL RELATIVE TO ONE COMPARATOR. On Sha Sha's Woza the same Sony entity is paired with Blaqboy Music Corporation (Pty) Ltd, a company. On both MetroBeatz RSA releases the second name is Mossetia Bongani Macebele, an individual, rather than Mossetia Music Group, the label entity credited on his own 2025 releases. This desk flags that as a fact worth watching. It does not read a rights position into it, and one comparator is not a convention.
THE PRIOR LABEL ENTITIES' POSITION IS UNKNOWN. It is not established whether Mossetia Music Group, SKN Entertainment, Swa Ku Nandzika Entertainment or Hood Power Entertainment/PnD Productions retain any interest in the pre-2026 catalogue, or have any role going forward. Those releases still carry their credit lines and none has moved to Sony.
THE IMPRINT'S OWN STATUS IS CONTESTED IN THE SOURCES. Sound African Recordings' X bio calls it "A Division of @SonyMusicAfrica"; a December 2025 label feature calls it "a subsidiary of Sony Music Africa". A division and a subsidiary are different legal structures. No filing reviewed resolves this, and it matters for who the artist's counterparty actually is.
SOURCES DROPPED ON RE-CHECK, 11 SEPTEMBER 2026. The Beatport track page for Mabyala and the Beatport label page for Sound African Recordings both returned HTTP 403 to an identified crawler and could not be read this session, so neither is cited here even as supporting colour. A Discogs label page returned 403 for the same reason. No dedicated Sony Music Africa domain resolved. The imprint-to-Sony link is instead evidenced from Deezer and Apple metadata on Sha Sha's Woza, which carries the Sony phonogram line and the Sound African Recordings label field on the same product.
ISRC REGISTRANT CODES ARE REPORTED, NOT DECODED. The codes CA-ENV, ZB-3XL and ZA-A01 are quoted exactly as returned by Deezer. This desk has not obtained the IFPI registrant allocation for any of them and does not claim to know which company holds any code. The finding is only that the code changed at the same release on which the phonogram line and the label field changed, and that the new code matches one already in use on a Sony Music Entertainment Africa release.
DATES DISAGREE SLIGHTLY ON THE COMPARATOR. Apple dates Sha Sha's Woza to 3 December 2020 and Deezer to 4 December 2020. This is treated as inconsistent catalogue data and nothing more.
FEATURES ARE OUTSIDE WHAT THE METADATA SHOWS. Guest appearances credited to MetroBeatz RSA continued to be issued by third parties after March 2026, including "Utati Sola (feat. MetroBeatz RSA)" of 30 June 2026 credited to Multimill. Nothing establishes whether that is permitted, out of scope, or unaddressed by whatever was agreed.
THE ARTIST'S LEGAL NAME APPEARS IN TWO ORDERS. The phonogram credit on both 2026 releases reads Mossetia Bongani Macebele. A public artist directory profile gives Macebele Bongani Mossetia. These are the same three names in a different order and this desk does not resolve which is the registered form.
MetroBeatz RSA is an artist and producer from the village of Khakhala in Giyani, Limpopo, described in a public artist directory as having moved from hip hop through amapiano into the xigaza genre. His release credits give his legal name as Mossetia Bongani Macebele; that directory gives it as Macebele Bongani Mossetia, the same three names in a different order. On 20 March 2026 a trade tracker of African label signings recorded that he had joined Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd. He announced it himself on Facebook, writing “I’m officially signed to Sony Music Entertainment Africa” and “Excited for this new chapter and everything we’re about to build together with the Sony family.”
Neither he nor the company has described what kind of agreement it is. This record sets out what the registry metadata on his commercial releases shows, which is narrower than a signing announcement but harder to argue with: the phonogram credit, the label of record and the ISRC registrant code on his own releases all changed at the same point, and all three changed to values that match Sony Music Entertainment Africa’s existing South African output.
What the credit lines show, release by release
| Release | Date | Apple phonogram line | Deezer label field | UPC | Track ISRC read |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prince Of Gaza (EP) | 16 April 2025 | ℗ 2025 SKN Entertainment | SKN Entertainment | 056870898872 | CAENV2557880 |
| Born For This | 8 October 2025 | ℗ 2025 Mossetia Music Group | Mossetia Music Group | 057829599659 | ZB3XL2500019 |
| Vatswari (Single) | 17 December 2025 | ℗ 2025 Mossetia Music Group | Mossetia Music Group | 057914352015 | ZB3XL2500027 |
| Superstar (Single) | 29 May 2026 | ℗ 2026 South Africa - Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd / Mossetia Bongani Macebele | Sound African Recordings | 196874386965 | ZAA012600147 |
| Mabyala (Single) | 28 August 2026 | ℗ 2026 South Africa - Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd / Mossetia Bongani Macebele | Sound African Recordings | 196874657805 | ZAA012600192 |
| Sha Sha, Woza (Single), comparator | 3 December 2020 (Apple), 4 December 2020 (Deezer) | ℗ 2020 South Africa - Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd/Blaqboy Music Corporation (Pty) Ltd | Sound African Recordings | 886448926566 | ZAA012000409 |
All lines read on 11 September 2026 from Apple’s catalogue lookup for artist 1709204217, Apple’s lookup for collection 1542336370, and Deezer’s album and track endpoints for the album IDs listed in the sources below.
Three fields moved together
The phonogram line is the copyright claim in the sound recording. Before 29 May 2026 it named independent entities: SKN Entertainment, Swa Ku Nandzika Entertainment, Hood Power Entertainment/PnD Productions, and the artist’s own Mossetia Music Group. From 29 May 2026 it names Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd jointly with Mossetia Bongani Macebele.
The label of record is what a service files the product under. On Deezer it moved from SKN Entertainment and Mossetia Music Group to Sound African Recordings, the Sony Music Entertainment Africa imprint.
The ISRC registrant code identifies who registered the recording. His 2025 releases carry registrant codes CA-ENV and ZB-3XL. Both 2026 releases carry ZA-A01, the same registrant code found on Sha Sha’s “Woza”, a release whose phonogram line names Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd and whose Deezer label field reads Sound African Recordings.
The joint credit names a person, not a company
Sony Music Entertainment Africa’s usual formulation on South African repertoire pairs its own entity with a partner company. On “Woza” the partner is Blaqboy Music Corporation (Pty) Ltd. On both MetroBeatz RSA releases the second name is Mossetia Bongani Macebele, his personal legal name, not Mossetia Music Group, the label entity credited on his own 2025 releases.
A phonogram line is not a contract and this desk does not read a structure into it. What can be said is that the partner slot holds an individual rather than a company, and that this differs from the comparator release checked. Whether Mossetia Music Group retains any interest in the pre-2026 catalogue, or has any role in the new arrangement, is not stated anywhere reviewed.
Features still go out on other labels
Guest appearances credited to MetroBeatz RSA continued to be issued by third parties after the signing. “Utati Sola (feat. MetroBeatz RSA)”, dated 30 June 2026, carries the line “℗ 2026 Multimill”. Nothing in the metadata indicates whether that is permitted by the arrangement, outside its scope, or simply unenforced.
The catalogue data is untidy
Apple’s catalogue for the artist lists several of the same titles twice under different credit lines. “Masingita” appears as collection 1768625692 credited to Swa Ku Nandzika Entertainment and as 1796029601 credited to SKN Entertainment. “Tshunela” appears twice on the same date under the same two names. “My Number One (feat. Dj Fumza)” appears as 1792158563 credited to SKN Entertainment and as 1796028793 credited to Mossetia Music Group, both dated 22 January 2025. These duplicates are recorded here as they were found. They are consistent with re-delivery of the same product under a changed credit, and they are not treated as evidence of a transfer.
What is not established
No party has said whether this is a recording contract, a licence, a distribution agreement or a joint venture. No amount, advance, term, royalty rate or option structure appears in any source located. No territory is stated by either side. Whether Sony Music Entertainment Africa acquired, licensed or merely now distributes the 2026 recordings cannot be determined from a phonogram line, and this record does not claim to determine it. No filing, register entry or company announcement naming MetroBeatz RSA was located.
