Skip to content

Music news, business and culture.

Join Newsletter

Khaligraph Jones’s Phonogram Credit Read ‘Brian Omollo/TML’ Until 2022. Since April 2025 It Names ONErpm, and the Exact Wording Changes Release to Release

Deal sheet

Status
Confirmed as a credit line published by the rightsholder on Apple Music, not as a disclosed transaction. The 'exclusive license to ONErpm' wording appears on the 4 April 2025 album and its lead single. Two 2026 singles carry a shorter 'Khaligraph Jones / ONErpm' credit naming the same company without the words 'exclusive license'. One 2026 single, 'Uspimee', names no distributor at all. Whether the underlying agreement changed, lapsed and was renewed, or the shorter wording is simply inconsistent metadata delivery could not be established from the credit lines alone.
Type
Distribution,Licensing
Parties
Blu Ink Corp, ONErpm
Amount
Not disclosed. No advance, royalty rate, term length, minimum guarantee or reversion date appears in any source checked, and neither party has published anything about the arrangement.
Rights covered
Sound recording copyright (phonogram) in named master recordings. The credit reads 'exclusive license to ONErpm' on the 2025 album and single, and the shorter 'Khaligraph Jones / ONErpm' on two 2026 singles, naming ONErpm as exclusive licensee rather than owner. Khaligraph Jones (or Blu Ink Corp, per the company's own site) remains the named phonogram owner. Publishing rights in the underlying compositions are a separate estate and were not traced.
Territory
Not stated in any credit line checked. Releases are available internationally, consistent with ONErpm's global distribution footprint, but no source checked states a contractual territory.
Announced
2025-04-04
Primary document
Rights registry
Sources
Apple Music album page for Khaligraph Jones, 'THE BOOK OF JONES 1st CHAPTER' (UAE storefront), fetched 23 September 2026, carrying the phonogram credit "\u2117 2025 Khaligraph Jones, with exclusive license to ONErpm". Released 4 April 2025; earliest release found carrying this wording under the artist's own name. · Apple Music, Khaligraph Jones, 'Invisible Currency', fetched 23 September 2026: "\u2117 2022 Brian Omollo/TML". Released 14 March 2022, no distributor named, the credit immediately prior to the ONErpm wording. · Apple Music, Khaligraph Jones, 'The Purge', fetched 23 September 2026, same album and credit as the source URL above. · Apple Music, Khaligraph Jones, 'Uspimee', fetched 23 September 2026: "\u2117 2026 Khaligraph Jones". Released 27 January 2026, no distributor named at all. · Apple Music, Khaligraph Jones and Johnny Vigeti, 'Case Mbaya', fetched 23 September 2026: "\u2117 2026 Khaligraph Jones / ONErpm". Released 11 March 2026, shortened wording, no 'exclusive license'. · Apple Music, Khaligraph Jones and Bensoul, 'Hallelujah (Washwash)', fetched 23 September 2026: "\u2117 2026 Khaligraph Jones / ONErpm". Released 8 April 2026, same shortened wording as Case Mbaya.

Read this before citing: THIS IS NOT A RECORD OF A DISCLOSED TRANSACTION. Neither Khaligraph Jones, Blu Ink Corp nor ONErpm has announced this arrangement, and no contract, term sheet or financial detail is public. A phonogram credit is a claim made by the party delivering the recording to a digital service at the time of delivery. It is good evidence of who asserted what and when; it is not a filing and not proof of title. Separately: the 2022 credit read 'Brian Omollo/TML', not 'Blu Ink' or 'Khaligraph Jones', and whether TML is an earlier name for the same entity as Blu Ink Corp is not established.

Khaligraph Jones’s own releases carried the sound recording copyright credit “Brian Omollo/TML” as recently as his 14 March 2022 album Invisible Currency, read on Apple Music. Starting with THE BOOK OF JONES 1st CHAPTER, released 4 April 2025, the credit changed to “Khaligraph Jones, with exclusive license to ONErpm.” That exact wording appears on the 2025 album and its lead single, “The Purge.”

The wording has not held steady since. Three 2026 releases were checked directly. “Uspimee” (27 January 2026) reads only “℗ 2026 Khaligraph Jones,” no distributor named. “Case Mbaya” (11 March 2026) and “Hallelujah (Washwash)” (8 April 2026) both read “℗ 2026 Khaligraph Jones / ONErpm,” a shorter form that drops the words “exclusive license” while still naming the same company.

ONErpm is not a new name to his catalogue. A August 2024 single by a different artist, Bridget Blue’s “Nairobi Streets (Remix)” featuring Khaligraph Jones, carries the credit “Digitone Music Group, with exclusive license to ONErpm,” a separate rightsholder on a release that is not his own masters.

No party has announced a deal. A MusicBrainz cross-check on 23 September 2026 returned only pre-2022 releases for the artist and no label relationship for ONErpm, Blu Ink or TML.

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

Pick your tempo

Who owns what, who got paid, and who is about to. The business behind African music, told like it is actually interesting (because it is).

  • The deals and catalogue sales nobody put out a press release for
  • Chart moves and streaming numbers we actually fact-checked (wild, we know)
  • Fresh names added to the directory, vetted before you ever see them

Free forever Ghost us anytime, one click

Get the inside track from Afrobeats Wire

Choose your speed. We will handle the rest.

How fast do you want it?

Your inbox is sacred. This address is used for the newsletter and nothing else, never sold, never passed on. Privacy policy.