Skip to content

Music news, business and culture.

Join Newsletter

88 MPH LIMITED Held 100,000 Shares in Mr Eazi’s UK emPawa Company and Transferred Every One of Them on 5 June 2023

Deal sheet

Status
Transfer confirmed by the company's own statutory filings, twice. The confirmation statement made on 2 December 2023 and received for filing on 4 December 2023 records the transfer, and the second filing of that same statement, registered on 4 April 2026, repeats it. Consideration, transferee and any share purchase agreement remain undisclosed and were not located on the public file. The identity of the shareholder entered on the register as "88 MPH LIMITED" could not be resolved to a company number.
Parties
emPawa Africa, 88mph
Amount
Not disclosed Not disclosed
Rights covered
EQUITY IN A COMPANY, NOT RIGHTS IN RECORDINGS OR SONGS. What moved was 100,000 ordinary one pound shares in EMPAWA AFRICA MUSIC SERVICES LIMITED (England and Wales, company number 12412587), the UK operating company behind Mr Eazi's emPawa Africa. No master recording, no copyright, no catalogue and no publishing interest is named in any filing checked. This is a shareholding transfer, not an assignment or licence of music rights, and it must not be read as one.

SIZE OF THE STAKE. 100,000 shares. That is 20 per cent of the 500,000 shares shown on the face of the company's original confirmation statements for 2 December 2022 and 2 December 2023, and 18.24 per cent of the 548,304 shares shown in the corrected second filings registered on 4 April 2026 and in the company's return of allotment filed 25 February 2026. Both denominators come from the company's own filings.

DATE OF REGISTRATION OF TRANSFER. 5 June 2023, stated on the confirmation statement made on 2 December 2023 as "100000 transferred on 2023-06-05" with "0 ORDINARY shares held as at the date of this confirmation statement" against the name 88 MPH LIMITED. The same transfer is restated in the second filing of that statement registered on 4 April 2026, which gives the date as 05/06/23.

TRANSFEREE NOT NAMED. No filing identifies who received the shares. ALEXBOSH LIMITED is the only holding that changes between the 2 December 2022 and 2 December 2023 registers, rising from 387,500 to 487,500 while total issued capital is unchanged. That is arithmetic performed by this desk, not a disclosure by the company.

Territory
UNITED KINGDOM, as a matter of corporate law. The company whose shares moved is registered in England and Wales, number 12412587, registered office Wisteria Grange Barn, Pikes End, Pinner HA5 2EX. The transfer is governed by that company's constitution and by the Companies Act 2006.

NOT A TERRITORIAL RIGHTS GRANT. No territory of exploitation attaches to this transaction because no music rights were transferred. emPawa Africa's operating footprint is Nigeria, Ghana and other African markets, but that is the business the company runs, not the scope of this transfer.

Announced
2023-06-05
Primary document
Regulatory filing
Sources
Companies House, England and Wales. EMPAWA AFRICA MUSIC SERVICES LIMITED (12412587), form CS01, confirmation statement made on 2 December 2023 with updates, received for filing in electronic format on 4 December 2023, barcode XCHNDR0J, 5 pages. Downloaded and read in full on 5 October 2026, HTTP 200. Page 2, "Full details of Shareholders", establishes the transfer of 100,000 ordinary shares by 88 MPH LIMITED on 2023-06-05 and its nil holding at the confirmation date, alongside ALEXBOSH LIMITED at 487,500 and Ikenna Nwagboso at 12,500. The Companies House filing history entry for this document carries the annotation: "Clarification a second filed CS01 (Shareholder info) was registered on 04/04/2026." · Companies House, form RP04CS01, second filing of the confirmation statement dated 2 December 2023, registered 4 April 2026, 4 pages. A scanned paper form with no extractable text layer; repaired and rendered to page images, then read on 5 October 2026. Restates the same 88 MPH LIMITED transfer of 100,000 shares with date of registration of transfer 05/06/23, and lists nineteen shareholders totalling 548,304 shares. · Companies House, form CS01, confirmation statement made on 2 December 2022 with updates, 6 pages, read 5 October 2026. Establishes the position immediately before the transfer: 88 MPH LIMITED 100,000, ALEXBOSH LIMITED 387,500, Ikenna Nwagboso 12,500, statement of capital 500,000 ordinary shares. · Companies House, form RP04CS01, second filing of the confirmation statement dated 2 December 2022, registered 4 April 2026, 6 pages, read as rendered page images 5 October 2026. Restates the statement of capital at 548,304 ordinary shares and lists nineteen shareholders, which is what moves the stake from 20 per cent to 18.24 per cent. · Companies House filing history for EMPAWA AFRICA MUSIC SERVICES LIMITED, read 5 October 2026, HTTP 200. Source for the two clarification annotations on the 2022 and 2023 confirmation statements and for the full chronology of filings. · Companies House, 88MPH LIMITED (13001599), incorporated 6 November 2020, active. Kresten Buch, date of birth February 1972, Danish, has been a director since 12 March 2021. Read 5 October 2026. Offered as context on the name only; this record does not identify this company as the transferor. · Companies House, EMPAWA1 LIMITED (13733909), incorporated 10 November 2021, dissolved 4 October 2022. Directors Oluwatosin Oluwole Ajibade and Kresten Buch; Buch was the registered person with significant control at the 75 per cent or more band. Read 5 October 2026.

Read this before citing: NO PRICE. No filing on the public record discloses what, if anything, was paid for the 100,000 shares. "Not disclosed" is the answer, not a placeholder.

NO TRANSFEREE NAMED. A UK confirmation statement is not required to identify who received transferred shares and this one does not. The inference that ALEXBOSH LIMITED received them rests on the fact that its holding rose by exactly 100,000 between the two registers while total capital was unchanged. Treat that as arithmetic, not disclosure.

THE TRANSFEROR'S IDENTITY IS NOT RESOLVED. The register entry is the free-text string "88 MPH LIMITED". An exact-name search of the UK register returns one match, company 05915754, incorporated 24 August 2006 and dissolved. The active company whose founder is associated with the pan-African seed fund 88mph is 88MPH LIMITED, number 13001599, spelled without a space. This desk did not establish which entity, or whether either, is the shareholder on the register. Shareholder names on confirmation statements carry no company number.

DO NOT CONFLATE EQUITY WITH CATALOGUE. Nothing here says anyone bought or sold a master, a song, a share of royalties or a distribution right. This is a change in the ownership of a company.

TWO SHARE COUNTS, BOTH FROM THE COMPANY. The percentage you get depends on which of the company's own filings you use. The originals say 500,000 shares in issue. The February 2026 return of allotment and the April 2026 second filings say 548,304. The company's filed accounts to 31 January 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025 all report called up share capital of 500,000 pounds. That contradiction is unresolved and is set out in the companion record on the 14 November 2022 allotment.

PERSON WITH SIGNIFICANT CONTROL. Oluwatosin Oluwole Ajibade has been the registered person with significant control of 12412587 since 20 January 2020 at the "ownership of shares, 75% or more" band, and that entry has not been amended. He held two shares personally and transferred them on 20 April 2021, per the confirmation statement made on 2 December 2021. On the corrected register for 2 December 2022 the largest single holding, ALEXBOSH LIMITED at 387,500 of 548,304, is 70.67 per cent. This desk could not establish from the public file how the 75 per cent or more entry is satisfied on that date. It is satisfied on the corrected 2 December 2023 register, where ALEXBOSH LIMITED holds 88.91 per cent.

On 5 June 2023 a transfer of 100,000 ordinary one pound shares in EMPAWA AFRICA MUSIC SERVICES LIMITED, the UK operating company behind Mr Eazi’s emPawa Africa, was registered. The register names the transferor as 88 MPH LIMITED, and the holding it gave up was its entire position in the company. No filing checked for this record discloses a price, and no filing names the transferee. The transfer appears in the confirmation statement made on 2 December 2023 and filed two days later, and again in a corrected second filing of that same statement registered on 4 April 2026.

What the register actually says

The confirmation statement for EMPAWA AFRICA MUSIC SERVICES LIMITED (company number 12412587) made up to 2 December 2022 lists three shareholders and nothing else: 88 MPH LIMITED with 100,000 ordinary shares, ALEXBOSH LIMITED with 387,500, and Ikenna Nwagboso with 12,500. That is 500,000 shares, matching the statement of capital on the same document.

The following year’s statement, made up to 2 December 2023 and received for filing on 4 December 2023, records the change in the standard form used for a departed member: “100000 transferred on 2023-06-05”, followed by “0 ORDINARY shares held as at the date of this confirmation statement”, against the name 88 MPH LIMITED. ALEXBOSH LIMITED is listed at 487,500 on the same page. Ikenna Nwagboso remains at 12,500.

The document does not name a transferee. ALEXBOSH LIMITED is the only holding on that register whose number changes between the two years, and it rises by exactly 100,000, with total issued capital unchanged. That is arithmetic, not a disclosure, and it is recorded here as arithmetic. Companies House does not require a confirmation statement to identify who received transferred shares, and this one does not.

How large the stake was

Against the 500,000 shares shown on the face of the original confirmation statements, 100,000 shares is 20 per cent. Against the 548,304 shares shown in the corrected second filings registered on 4 April 2026, and in the company’s own return of allotment filed on 25 February 2026, the same 100,000 shares is 18.24 per cent. Both figures come from the company’s own filings. They differ because the share capital the company reported in 2022 and 2023 was later restated upwards by 48,304 shares.

The named transferor, and the limit of the identification

The register entry reads “88 MPH LIMITED”. An exact-name search of the UK register returns one company called 88 MPH LIMITED, number 05915754, incorporated on 24 August 2006 and dissolved. A separate active company, 88MPH LIMITED, number 13001599, was incorporated on 6 November 2020, and Kresten Buch, the founder of the pan-African seed fund that trades as 88mph, has been a director of it since 12 March 2021. Buch was also a director, and the registered person with significant control at the 75 per cent or more band, of EMPAWA1 LIMITED, number 13733909, a company incorporated on 10 November 2021 on which Oluwatosin Oluwole Ajibade was his co-director, and which was dissolved on 4 October 2022.

This record does not state which of those entities the register entry refers to. A shareholder name on a confirmation statement is free text and carries no company number. What is established is that an entity entered on the register as 88 MPH LIMITED held, and then transferred, a stake in Mr Eazi’s UK operating company, and that the founder of 88mph sat on the board of a separately incorporated emPawa-named company alongside Mr Eazi in the same period.

Why this matters to the existing record

Mr Eazi has publicly characterised money that reached emPawa from 88mph as a convertible loan rather than fund equity, and has described 88mph as defunct. A convertible loan that converts becomes equity, so the two accounts are not necessarily in conflict. What the filings add is a date and a size: by 2 December 2022 the position was equity on the statutory register, it amounted to 100,000 ordinary shares, and it was gone by 5 June 2023.

Limits of this record. Read in full from Companies House on 5 October 2026: the confirmation statement made on 2 December 2023 (received 4 December 2023), the confirmation statement made on 2 December 2022, both second filings registered on 4 April 2026, and the returns of allotment filed 6 December 2021 and 25 February 2026. The 2022 and 2023 originals are electronically filed documents and were read as filed text. The two 2026 second filings are scanned paper forms and were read as rendered page images. No consideration, no transferee and no share purchase agreement appear in any filing. The identity of 88 MPH LIMITED as entered on the register could not be resolved to a company number. Corrections to desk@afrobeatswire.com.

Share this story

Written by

Yewande Coker

Yewande Coker is Afrobeats Wire's business editor. She covers the money side of African music: catalogue acquisitions, distribution and publishing deal structures, label finances, and the ownership chains behind the continent's biggest rights.

More from this desk →

Sponsored

ToneGrid: deliver your music globally. White-label distribution, royalties and analytics for labels and distributors.

Pick your tempo

Who owns what, who got paid, and who is about to. The business behind African music, told like it is actually interesting (because it is).

  • The deals and catalogue sales nobody put out a press release for
  • Chart moves and streaming numbers we actually fact-checked (wild, we know)
  • Fresh names added to the directory, vetted before you ever see them

Free forever Ghost us anytime, one click

Get the inside track from Afrobeats Wire

Choose your speed. We will handle the rest.

How fast do you want it?

Your inbox is sacred. This address is used for the newsletter and nothing else, never sold, never passed on. Privacy policy.